English Muffin Bread

I am always in search of food blogs for inspiration, admiration and style. I’m mostly addicted, lies, completely obsessed with them. If I’m not cooking and I’m next to my computer you can guarantee that I’m working on my blog or looking at someone else’s. A few weeks ago I stumbled upon Foodie with Family, which a really great resource blog for people cooking and doing meal-planning for a busy family. She takes wonderful photos and has great hints on how to plan ahead. I literally stopped in my tracks when I saw her English Muffin Bread recipe. AJ and I are both obsessed with English muffins, what could be better than English muffin bread?Nothing, of course.  

I stuck perfectly to her half-recipe because it still makes two huge loaves which should, in theory, be more than enough for AJ and I. You know, one loaf each. I love how you think I’m being sarcastic right now but I’m not. I thought I’d be nice though and share the love so I gifted a loaf to my friend for his belated birthday breakfast.

If you are vegan, there is nothing in the bread that isn’t vegan however, you should baste it with butter but the good news is you can totally substitute the butter for earth balance. If you have never made bread, you can make this bread! So just do it already, I expect thank-yous and buttery cornmeal handshakes later.

English Muffin Bread

adapted from Foodie with Family

    • 2 3/4 cups warm water
    • 1 tablespoon coarse sea salt
    • 1 tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons organic cane sugar
    • 1 tablespoon plus 1 1/4 teaspoons yeast
    • 5 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
    • 1/4 cup of salted butter, melted
    • Non-stick cooking spray
    • coarse cornmeal
    • plastic wrap

Method

In a large bowl add warm water, sea salt, cane sugar, yeast and flour and mix by hand until just combined. Dough will be very sticky, but that is how she needs to be.  Spray a large piece plastic wrap with non-stick spray and cover bowl, spray side down. Wrap with a tea towel in a room-temperature or warmer place and let rise for 60 minutes.

 

Spray two bread pans with non-stick spray and coat each with cornmeal. My fancy method includes tapping the loaf pans and rotating them over the kitchen sink until they are evenly coated.

Spray your hands with non-stick spray, trust me you don’t want to skip that step. Gently divide dough into two equal pieces and place each half into one pan.

Cover again with non-stick sprayed plastic wrap and let rise for 30 minutes. About 15 minutes through preheat oven to 350.

Bake for 30 minutes, remove form the oven and brush each loaf with melted butter. Rotate the pans, place back in the oven for an additional 10 minutes. Loaves should be golden brown and glossy. Remove immediately from the bread pans an place on a wire rack to cool. Brush again with the remaining melted butter and leave to cool completely.

 

I know right now you are thinking, hot bread, in my mouth right now! STOP! Yes you heard me stop yourself, leave the house, take a preventative walk, let the loaves cool completely. Then attack like a starving shark, cut hearty pieces, toast until the edges are burnt, slather in butter, or butter and jam/jelly, or butter and peanut butter. Or all three, yes I did that and no I’m not ashamed.

  

Tell me what you think!

