Sandy’s Simple Sauce

This is a recipe of my sister who has a great love for Italy, seeing as her and her husband lived there for 3 years. I never copied down the exact recipe, but I think I do it justice. It tastes a lot like A La Vodka sauce, without the cream so it’s Vegan friendly, however while I was living with Caitlin she started making it with cheese tortellini and it’s awesome! I have also used this sauce to top Egg Plant Parmesan which I will hopefully post soon. You have to double this recipe though to have enough for the EggParm.


Sandy’s Simple Sauce

1 can diced tomatoes drained
1 medium onion
3 cloves garlic
olive oil
basil
s&p
crushed chilis or a dash of cayenne, very little and optional

Method:

Heat 1/4 cup of olive oil over medium low heat in a pan.

Dice onions, flatten garlic with knife (don’t cut) and add to pan,
season with salt and pepper.

Let onions and garlic sweat for about 15 minutes, until soft.

Drain a can of diced tomatoes, add to onion mixture.

Add Basil(1 healthy teaspoon if dry, a table spoon if in the tube or 1/4 cup fresh leaves torn)

Simmer on low for another 5 minutes, puree in blender and serve over cheese tortellini.

One thought on “Sandy’s Simple Sauce

  1. i’ve had this a few times, it’s absolutely amazing! my favourite pasta sauce ever.. without a doubt. šŸ™‚

Tell me what you think!

