Pico de Gallo

I have been trying to think of perfect summer recipes and truth is I tend to cook more in the winter and the dishes are heavier and when I sit down to write them I am not as turned on by the nonseasonal aspect of writing winter recipes in the summer. Something I ate a lot while I was in Florida thanks to my very kind brother-in-law John was pico de gallo. Funny enough when I think of it here I also keep telling myself I need to introduce it to Jonathan cause I can guarantee it will be his new favorite. In essence this is my perfect summer recipe, simple and clean tasting, no fuss and requires no cooking. John I hope I do your recipe justice. Also please please make sure everything is ripe and fresh, it makes a world of difference, don’t mess with my romanticism of summer perfected in salsa.



Pico De Gallo (fresh salsa to us baby)

  • 10 ripe roma tomatoes washed, seeded and diced
  • 1/2 of a red onion finely diced
  • 1 jalepeno finely diced (you can omit this believe but I like a lot of spice)
  • 2 large cloves of garlic grated
  • juice of two fresh limes
  • a splash of olive oil 1-2 tbsps
  • a handful of fresh cilantro washed and chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
Method

Wash, seed and dice tomatoes. Dice onions, jalepeno, and cilantro and add to a large bowl. Grate garlic into bowl, add oil and lime juice and season with salt and pepper. Mix well and let chill for at least 30 minutes. Serve with anything you would eat salsa with. Tortilla chips are a must. Sit on your patio with that and some sun tea and you have a perfect day.

Tip: Lime juicing trick, make sure they are room temperature first, then give them a good roll on table before you cut into them to juice them. It releases some of the liquid and makes it easier to get at it.

3 thoughts on “Pico de Gallo

  1. Back home, they call it ’’ Slata’’, some people add cucumber, some add tuna, it is so good in the summer [with extra chili peppers], and typically it is served with the homemade bread [white or wheat]. it can be a sauce [used as dips] or salad. By the way, Salsa is the Arabic, and Italian word for can refer to any type of sauce.

Tell me what you think!

