Easy Ice Cream Sandwiches

I was given this recipe by word of mouth from Melinda, and now I have made these a few times. If you want to make them more difficult Vegan Ice Soy Sandwiches, it is possible using your favorite vegan chocolate chip cookies recipe, soy ice cream and nuts. Since the summer calls for laziness I use everything pre-made (gasp!) to save on a hot kitchen and improve on quick sampling.

Pre-made cookies, either baked earlier and cooled or from the grocery store bakery. I really like the mini ones if you can find them, or have the patience to make them.

1 carton of ice cream, I’m a sucker for a quality french vanilla ice cream but in the photo I used cookie dough.

Optional: toffee chips, chopped nuts, toasted coconut, mini chocolate chips or mini m&m’s to roll in

Let ice cream soften a bit on the counter, if using mini cookies scoop about 1-2 tbsp of ice cream unto one cookie and top with another, roll in any combination of the above. Store in a seal-able container and put in the freezer. I usually make about 5 before I transfer them to the freezer again. You can make these with the bigger cookies you just need to add more ice cream. You can also make your own cookies and own ice cream. But let them freeze for about an hour before you eat them.

 

Tell me what you think!

