Biscuits

This is my mother’s biscuit recipes which I am sure was also my grandmothers as well. She just used this recently to make strawberry shortcake, but they are just as good plain. You can turn these into cinnamon buns but I also use this recipe as the base for scones.

Biscuits

  • 4 cups of flour
  • 6 tbsp sugar
  • 8 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup of vegetable shortening (when making scones I usually use butter)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/3 cups of milk

Method

Mix dry ingredients together, cut in shortening with 2 butter knives if you don’t have a pastry knife. Add eggs and milk. Combine well kneading slightly on floured board. Roll out and cut into biscuits. I used to be really bad at this part so I would just scoop them out, they definitely were free form but require a lot less effort. The less you handle the dough the better, biscuits can get tough if you knead them too much. Bake at 425 for 10-12 minutes.

Scones

I have made so many different kinds of scones these are my favorites. To make scones make them into a wheel shape, I think you get about 2 out of this recipe. Score the top in eight sections, like you were cutting a pizza, you don’t have to cute all the way through but if you can, do it. Bake these at 375 for about 20 mins or more, they should be golden brown.

Cranberry Lemon make the biscuit recipe, and add 1 cup of roughly chopped cranberries, 2 tbsp of zest of a lemon and 1/2 lemon worth of juice to the dry mix before adding eggs and milk. Shape into a wheel and brush with milk.

Blueberry Cinnamon make biscuit recipe add 1 cup of frozen blueberries and 2 tsp cinnamon, to the dry mix. When you shape this into a wheel I always brush with milk and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.

Dark Chocolate Cherry make biscuit recipe adding 3/4 cup of roughly chopped dried cherries and 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips to the mix. Shape into a wheel and brush with milk before baking.

Whole Wheat Flax make biscuit recipe adding 1/2 cup of flax seed and replace 1/2 the flour for whole wheat. I usually make these into biscuits not scones.

Cheese and Onion make biscuit recipe but add 2 tsp of thyme, 1 tsp oregano, 2 tbsp Parmesan cheese, 1 cup of grated old cheddar cheese, and one medium onion sauteed with garlic and a little oil. Let onions cool before adding to the mixture to stop the cheese from melting. Brush with milk before cooking, you can top with a little extra cheese if you like.

Ginger make biscuit recipe but add 2 tsp ground ginger and a 2 inch piece of fresh ginger grated or over finely chopped. I also sometimes add 1 cup of chopped cranberries to this mix too. Brush with milk and dust with ginger and sugar.

Mediterranean make biscuit recipe and add 1 tbsp oregano, 1/2 cup of pitted chopped black olives, 3/4 cup of chopped sun dried tomatoes. Brush with milk and bake. You can also roll this out about 1 inch thick and cover with fresh garlic and cheese. Roll back up like you would a cinnamon roll cut them and throw them in greased muffin tins to bake.

2 thoughts on “Biscuits

  1. Thanks for posting this biscuit recipe. As I posted on my blog a few months ago, I’m a newbie at cooking biscuits. I’m a New Yorker married to a southerner, and I am still trying to perfect biscuits so I might just have to try this recipe.

  2. Oh I hope you do try it, there is always the fear when you are first making your Mom’s recipes but sometimes it just takes a few tries. I hope you like the recipe 😉 thanks for the comment!

Tell me what you think!

