Tandoori Flavoured Paneer or Tofu

Saami and I were dreaming of grilling paneer and I was trying to come up with a marinade. I recently brought this over to his house and the intention was to BBQ an onion, green pepper and the slabs of marinaded paneer and make some sort of yummy grilled sandwich. However as plans go, it rained, so I threw it all in the wok and made a stir fry. This marinade would also be good with tofu if you do not eat cheese or cannot get paneer. I would suggest freezing and draining the tofu first, if you need more info look at my Preparing Tofu post.

Easy Curry Marinade

  • 3 tsp Patak’s Bryani paste
  • 1 tsp Patak’s Hot Curry Paste
  • 1 large clove of garlic grated
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp good soy sauce
  • fresh ground pepper to taste

Method

Mix Marinade in a small bowl.

Cut up paneer, I made 1/4 inch thick slices (in the shape of cards then cut in half later when I stir fried it) , cubing will work if you use this on skewers on the BBQ.

Marinate for at least an hour, I left it for about 5 that night.

Making Kababs alternating paneer(or tofu) with red onion, mushrooms and peppers would be very good, but because of my constraints, I stir-fried paneer first in about 4 tablespoons of oil, removed form pan stir fried veggies until tender, then added in the panner to reheat( about one minute).

One thought on “Tandoori Flavoured Paneer or Tofu

  1. Yesterday Caitlin came over, and I had had my tofu marinating in this mix for a little over a day.
    I decided to rehydrate some rice noodle,one package, and stir-fry 1 onion cut into rings, 1/2 red pepper, 1/2 orange pepper, a couple of mushrooms(washed and sliced, a large handful of each cauliflower and broccoli cut into small Florette’s, 1 medium sized carrot rinsed, peeled cut into three then into match sticks, and a flattened piece of garlic. Sit fry all veggies in a little oil, I added salt and pepper and some thai spice, then threw in the marinated tofu which I had sliced like a deck of card(about 1/4 ” think but then cut those “cards into 4’s so they were cube-like). After that has cooked a few minutes add the pre-soaked rice noodles(I pour boiling water over them and left them only 5 minutes because I knew I was going to stir fry them. I added the drained rice noodles, a can of coconut milk about 2 tsp of honey and some salt to taste and it turned out super yummy. The tofu had a stronger lime taste because I had used lime instead of lemon for the marinade but ti worked will with the Thai inspired stir fry… good vegan entree for sure. Bean sprouts would have been wonderful in this as well but I just used what i had on hand.

Tell me what you think!

