The Cookies : Mere’s Fave

I have never had a recipe for these cookies, they are the handful of this handful of that, pinch of this, dash of that type of cookies. You can make these into cookies or put them in a square pan and make bars. I used to make these all the time when I had the ingredients and bring them to my lovely ladies at MCS. The theory behind them is I wanted to make cookies but didn’t want to use refined sugars and I wanted to use as little processed things as possible by using natural peanut butter, whole oats, seeds, fruits and grains, but I do throw in some chocolate because there is nothing better than peanut butter and chocolate. Anyways I think the recipe lives up to the haphazard way I usually make them, this is all for Meredith, now you don’t need me anymore.

The Cookies

  • 1 cup of chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup of raisins
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut(optional)
  • 1/4 cup of flax seed
  • 2 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla or maple flavoring
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup, add more if you need the moisture
Method

Preheat oven to 325

Combine all dry ingredients then add wet to them. I do this just in case you need to add more maple syrup. It’s a hard mix and can be messy,  I have never had a recipe for this until now this is how I do it.

Once it is all combined and sticking to itself, grease a pan, and start dropping cookies on it. This recipe does not spread out when you bake them, so I usually make 2 tsp full cookies, and pat them down a little. You can also make these into bars easily. Just press into a 9 x 9 inch square pan and bake until brown, usually about 20 mins. The cookies bake about 8-10 minutes, just until the bottoms start to brown.

When you take the cookies out of the oven let them cool on the cookie sheet for about 2-3 minutes before removing them from the sheet. Be gentle transferring them to a wire rack, because they are crumbly when warm. I recommend using a smaller grid/gauge rack if you have one because they tend to fall through. Once they cool they are much more sturdy.

2 thoughts on “The Cookies : Mere’s Fave

  1. Yes! At last! The Cookies! Oh, sweet, sweet givers of joy and nutrients!

    Thank you, oh Creator of the Cookie! Thine gifts for baking art far beyond mere mortal understanding. Verily, thou art kind to bestow this knowledge upon thine lowly admirers. Hail! Thine kindness shalt not be forgotten.

Tell me what you think!

