Doughnuts from Scratch

Ok so my Mother and I officially have a new Christmas tradition, making doughnuts.  It pretty fun and easy but I would recommend making them with a friend, they seem to fry fast and you need a designated cutter, fryer and sugar-coater (which can be done by 2 people). Plus baking/frying with a friend is always more fun.

This is my Grandmothers recipe and really needs no improvement (in my opinion). Happy frying.

Grandma Lois’ Doughnuts

  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 3 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 cup of milk at room temperature
  • 3 1/2 cups of flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp nutmeg

Method

Mix and chill in the refrigerator at least 2 hours or overnight.

Heat oil to 380F in deep fryer, electric frying pan of on top of the stove.

Roll out and cut with a doughnut cutter (you can find these at most kitchen supply shops). Fry until golden brown flipping half way through.

When doughnuts are cooked place on paper towel and then directly into  cinnamon sugar. Once coated well, place on wire racks to cool.

I suggest if you have never had a fresh doughnut eating one while they are still warm and crispy…yummmm

4 thoughts on “Doughnuts from Scratch

  1. First off I would like to thank you so much for sharing your family’s recipe with everyone. I do have one question though. What thickness should I roll the dough out to?

    Your recipe is going to top off a meal of made from scratch burger and fries this Saturday. I will let you know how they turn out.

    • Hey Matthew!

      We usually roll them out about 3/4″ to 1″ no bigger. As you can see the puff up quite a bit!

      We literally have been making them for 3 generations so I would love to hear how they turn out! Have fun at your dinner party!

      • Just wanted to give you a quick update.

        The doughnuts were amazing! I have never had them fresh before and I don’t know if I can ever eat a cold doughnut again. The dough made enough that I made them for our party then took them to my mother’s house on Sunday and made them with her too.

        The hardest part was keeping the oil at the right temperature. I found it was much better to have the oil a little too cold than too hot. I also rolled the dough out pretty thin. It made it a little easier for me to make sure they cooked all the way through since the oil kept getting too hot.

        To conclude;
        Doughnut recipe – the absolute tops!

      • Wow, thank you so much for writing back!

        I am glad you liked them so much and you are right you can’t go back to the normal doughnuts afterward!

        You are right though getting the right temperature is difficult and since I do not fry a lot of things it’s hard the gauge cooking times. Did you try making doughnut holes?It’s nice to make them and they tend to cook more evenly in my experience.

        Again, I really appreciate your feedback! I hope you pass on the recipe!

Tell me what you think!

