Seriously THE Best, Vegan Brownies

Ok so being a vegetarian a long time and trying to convince meat eaters to at least try to scale down how much animal products they consume I figured I should take my own advice. I am not vegan but have the utmost respect for people who can live the lifestyle so noticing where I consume the most animal products in my diet is in baked goods I needed to find some cruelty free options. I’ve been baking since I was a little girl and do so with a passion and brownies vegan and non-vegan alike are a very recipe protected venture. However, yesterday as I was drooling through multiple vegan baking websites I came across these brownies who many people were up in raves about. I decided I had to take the plunge and boy was I totally impressed. The problem I find with most brownie recipes are due to the heavy ingredients, even though it  was a really moist fudgy brownie the baking part of it was the secret, you can’t bake them too long because they get dry can’t under cook them because the egg  needs to set.  Vegan brownies gave me a fool proof concoction, no egg to set wooo but I was worried about them being dry…I was sooo wrong. I omitted the nuts in the photo simply because I was too impatient to get my butt to the store but they turned out FANTASTIC I suggest you try these, amazing!

Just to note this is in no way my recipe it is all thanks to The Modern Vegetarian Kitchen by Peter Berley.

AMAZING Vegan Brownies

  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup soymilk
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup unbleached white flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup unbleached organic cane sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Add the oil, maple syrup , soy milk and vanilla to a medium bowl and whisk to combine. In a separate bowl mix together flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder and salt. Fold the dry ingredients into the wet mixture with a rubber spatula, trying not to over mix. Fold in the chocolate chips and walnuts.

Put the batter in a non-stick or prepared pan and spread it out evenly.

Bake for about 35 minutes. Be careful not to over bake and even thought it’s hard, let them cool before cutting.

13 thoughts on “Seriously THE Best, Vegan Brownies

  1. This recipe was great, although I didn’t have any walnuts. So I substituted chunks of veal instead and the result was fantastic.

    many Thanks.

  2. Pingback: Vegan Brownies…….good for Cosmos’s tummy | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

    • Hi B, I usually use raw organic sugar in everything because white sugar isn’t always vegetarian either but thanks for pointing that out. When I do use white sugar I used the brand Lantic because all of the products with exception of the ones produced in Vancouver are free of using bone charr as a filter. I’ll make a update to the recipe for you in the mean time to be more clear.

  3. Hi there – these look great – can you tell me what size pan you used? I can’t find that info in the recipe anywhere… Thanks!!!

Tell me what you think!

