Messing around with Fondant with help from Gateau Rose’s Kelly

Today is my friend’s baby shower, she is having a girl and they have decided on the name. She loves lady bugs and the baby to be will be named Violet. I came up with an idea to do the cake, cause I love to bake and knew who to turn to for decorating help and expertise! Ms Kelly (half of the magical Gateau Rose duo) came to my rescue and more than assisted me with these decorations for the cake and it was a success. They were made with edible fondant and dye and bits of royal icing, not delicious but pretty! Thanks again Kelly!

We quite a few but I`ll post the pictures of the finished product, sorry for the photo quality as i shot both in the dark and my camera needs and upgrade 😉

The cake itself was my chocolate cake already on this site, however I made chocolate mousse filling by melting the chocolate over a low temperature in heavy cream. Chill it completely, then whip it and fill the cake. I also made the chocolate butter cream that accompanies the cake recipe linked above.

Tell me what you think!

