Oatmeal Cake

This cake takes me back. I can’t say I didn’t love everything Mom baked, I was a chubby kid, but I do have fond memories of this cake. Warmed with cinnamon, dense and moist and topped with candy like brown sugar and chocolate chips..yum! I think this cake was a war time fav because it seems to be rationed. The original recipe which came from my Grandmother on my mother’s side has a bit more oil and one more egg. I don’t think they are necessary but feel free to try it anyway you like. The beauty of this recipe is I usually have the ingredients on hand and it’s a great cake for substitutions. I imagine pumpkin or sunflower seeds and raisins would be wonderful in it or to make it vegan just substitute the egg for banana or egg substitute and omit the chocolate or sub it for dark.


 

Delicious Oat Cakeeee

  • 1 cup of organic oats
  • 1/2 cup of boiling water
  • 1 tsp soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1-2 eggs ( I find one does the trick but original recipes calls for 2)
  • 1 cup of brown sugar (half goes in the cake half goes on top)
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 1/2-3/4cup of oil ( again I find 1/2 cup works fine I actually prefer it, original calls for 3/4 cup)
  • 1 tsp each vanilla and cinnamon
  • 1+1/2 cups of white flour
  • 1 +1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup (generous) of chocolate chips

Method

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9″x13″ pan.

Add organic oats  and  boiling water into a large bowl, mix and stand for 15 minutes.

Add baking soda and salt . Beat in egg(s), 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white, oil, and vanilla

Finally add  flour, cinnamon and baking powder. Once the mix is even, pour into greased pan. Cover with remaining 1/2 cup brown sugar and chocolate chips.

Bake for 30-35 mins, until a toothpick comes out clean form the middle. Let cool before cutting, no need to release form the pan.

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cake

  1. hey babydoll, i have recently foraged into the world of baking, as you know i have wanted to for some time! well this popped my cake cherry, and i loved it! easy, unique and deelish! i used your amended measurements and i cannot imagine it being better! way to go lady, keep up your sexy blog, love it! xoxoxop

Tell me what you think!

