Smooth Operator

Smoothies…. they are delicious.

Fruit, we all like fruit.. well I hope we all like fruit.

It’s all ground up so folks with texture issues usually can deal. They come in fun colours and flavors. You can hide veggies in them but don’t tell anyone.. especially my boyfriend, I would never do that to him.

This recipes makes one AJ sized vegan smoothie which usually is good for two people.

Vegan Smoothie

  • 1 organic banana (medium sized) peeled and cut into chunks
  • 3/4-1 cup of good frozen fruit ( I usually have blueberries or strawberries on hand)
  • vanilla almond milk
  • juice (orange or pineapple are our favs)

Method

The glass I am about to picture is a little over 1/2 a litre in volume. It’s AJ sized so I would advise using your blender but I do not have one cause it would be cheating on my hand blender and it would never forgive me. Smoothies are pretty simple stuff, add all fruit together, add about 1:2 ratio for almond milk vs juice. A good rule of thumb is to just cover your fruit in liquid but remember if you are unsure you can always add liquid but you can’t take it away.  In this case it’s about 1/3 of a cup almond milk  to 2/3 orange juice and blend. You can add any fruit combo and it’s good ( although apples are not so great for blending). I like adding some flax seed to mine, you can add yogurt or soy yogurt which I usually do as I have to omit the banana. You can use soy or rice milk I just really like the almond milk.


One thought on “Smooth Operator

  1. Pingback: J is for | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

