Sandwich Buns

AJ wanted a burger, I wanted some sandwich rolls. He ate two, the next day the dog ate the rest… my fault I left it on the counter and Gambit knows what is good. These are pretty multipurpose breads, easy and quick to make and sturdy for all your topping desires. I sourced a recipe for this one from Food.com I definitely made some changes, my recipe with alterations is below. The full recipe below makes 12 buns, I cut it inhalf and made 6 with no issues.

Sandwich Buns

  • 2 tablespoons active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil (I barely used this much oil and I used olive oil)
  • 1 heaping tbsp of honey or sugar
  • 1 egg, separated
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 -3 1/2 cups flour( I used white but half whole wheat would be better)

Method

Preheat oven to 400 F

In a mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water.Add oil, honey and let stand for about 5 minutes. Separate the egg and beat in egg  yolk, salt and enough flour to form a soft dough.  Knead dough until smooth and elastic, about 3 to 5 minutes.

Divide immediately into 12 pieces and shape into a balls. Place on greased baking sheets, cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rest for 15 minutes.

Brush rolls with reserved egg white. Bake about 8 to 12 minutes or until golden brown. Watch these, they burn easily due to the hot temperature.  The original recipe calls for baking at 425 F but in a  good preheated over 400 F did the trick for me.

Remove from pans to wire rack to cool before serving. Cut open and stuff with your hearts desire.

Tell me what you think!

