P.B.B for the D.O.G

We have a pooch, his name is Gambit.

He likes treats, especially anything with peanut butter. I like to bake and he is very much my child so I bake for him. These treats are super easy and good for him, and make an even happier dog.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Treats

  • 1 free run egg
  • 1/3 cup natural (no sugar/salt added) peanut butter
  • 1 ripe mashed banana
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ or oatmeal whatever you have on hand
  • 3 tbsp flax seed, whole or ground

Method

Prepare a cookie sheet and preheat oven to 300 F

Peel, slice and mash up a banana with a fork in a medium sized bowl. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.

Dough will be sticky. I’m lazy, you can totally roll these out, about 1/4″ thick and cut them with some cutesy cookie cutters. They make great gifts for dogs. I scoop up about 2 tsps at a time, roll them and then flatten with a fork. Sometimes I dip in seasme or flax seeds to make them look prettier.

There are some people who suggest brushing with egg before baking to give them a gloss. My dog doesn’t care about gloss, he cares about eating. I Do usually roll them in sesame seeds or flax seeds if you have them, in the picture above I used both.

Bake treats until brown, depending on size you make them they can take 15-30 minutes. You want to make sure they are almost dried out, and brown on the bottom for some crunch. Please let these cool completely before giving them to your puppy. I’m fine with burning my mouth on cookies but I don’t like doing it to my pooch.

Since they are natural they do not keep long. Store them in an airtight container or in the freezer for a month.

Tell me what you think!

