Spring Asparagus Strata

We had left over bread form Julien’s Bakery. I knew this was going to happen when we brought home 6 bagels and a large loaf of white bread. Have no fear, strata is here. I’ve actually never have made a strata until today but I suggest it cause tits completely easy, uses left overs and can be completely suited to what you have on hand. Plus it’s kind of like a egg meets stuffing combo that has a lot of comfort-food potential. It saved my 1/2 eaten loaf of bread which was stale and in the fridge. I got to use up some aspargus that is now in season but this would be good with olives and sun-dried tomatoes, basil and Parmesan or spinach and mushrooms with brie, etc etc etc.

Asparagus Strata

  • 6 free range eggs
  • 1/2 cup organic milk ( I used 2%)
  • 1 bunch of aparagus
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1/2 small white onion finely minded OR 2 green onions
  • 1+1/2- 2 cups of cubed bread OR croutons
  • 1 cup of cheddar cheese grated
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • salt and pepper to taste
Method
|Mince garlic and onion and set aside in a large bowl. For this recipe I used my croutons made previously you can view the recipe here. You can also use just stale bread. Making sure you cut it into bite sized pieces. I measured the amount I needed but adding it to a 8 inch round cake pan as I went. I think I ended up adding too much bread so I would suggest not over filling it to the top, just a good amount of bread with spaces for the eggs to run into, no more than 2 cups.
Wash and prepare the asparagus. Asparagus is still in season so you should be able to get some top notch stuff in your grocery store. I usually cut about 1/3 up of the way up from the bottom of the plant and remove the tougher bits. I then separate out about 10 of the fattest spears to use chopped. Thinly slice the thickest spears and add to the onion and garlic int he large bowl. With the remaining, because I wasn’t to make the strata look fancy I made sure they were as even as possible lining their heads evenly across the cutting board and removing the different length-ed ends.
 
Add eggs and milk and herbs to the veggie mixture and combine with a fork. Add grated cheese and croutons/cubed bread and coat evenly. Turn into a prepare baking dish, a brownie or cake pan will work well. I let mine sit for about 2 hours in the fridge to let the flavors combine and the egg soak into the bread. Strata is a great make ahead dish cause it can sit in the fridge for up to 12 hours before you cook it but if you want strata NOW at least let it sit and hour.
 
When you are ready, pre-heat your oven to 350 and bake for about 25-30 minutes. In this case I took the remaining asparagus and placed on top for looks. You can just chop that up and add it to your mix or omit all together.  Serve with a light salad or mixed greens and maybe some mimosas!
Tell me what you think!

