Margaritas

It’s been hot out so I have been a lazy cook, which has been reflective of my lack of posts. We have been BBQin‘ up a storm and on nights we aren’t doing that we are ordering take out. The only thing I seem to be making lately is cocktails on weekends. Yesterday I had a wonderful BBQ with a couple of friends, apart from the standard hotdogs and hamburgers and corn I also whipped up some guacamole and pico de gallo. We shared greek salad, tequila cocktails and wine and after finally digesting the copious amount of food we ate strawberry shortcake. I had whipped up the biscuits in the morning, macerated some strawberries and put it together with some whipped cream. Since I’ve been super lazy I figured a two-for-one post was in order. Below are my variations and ingredients for my two favorite frozen cocktals! Each makes one blender full which is about 4-6 drinks.

Margaritas

Rimmer

  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp dried cilantro flakes
  • 1 wedge of lemon or lime

Margarita

  • 1 can of limeade ( I used the minute maid version)
  • 1-2 shots of Tequila per person, for a blender full I usually like 6 shots
  • fill the rest of the blender with ice
  • 1 tsp lime zest
Method
On a plate mix the dry ingredients for the rimmer and set aside. Take the lime or lemon wedge  and run along the edge of the rim of the glass then turn the glass upside down and rotate in the salt mix to rim the glass. Add all the drink ingredients to a blender and blend well. Pour into rimmed glasses and serve immediately.
Fresh Strawberry Margarita
  • 1/2 pint of fresh strawberries washed and hulled
  • 1/2 can of limeade
  • 5 shots of tequila
  • 2 shots of blue curacao (orange liqueur)
  • fill blender with ice
Method
In a blender combine all ingredients well and pour into chilled glasses. Serve immediately.
 
One thought on “Margaritas

Tell me what you think!

