I-don’t-know-what-to-call-it-other-than-addicting

A few years back one of my Mother’s good friend sent over some Christmas baking for the season. Wrapped in cellophane and tied with a ribbon were these odd shaped (think peanut butter brittle shards) chocolate topped crackers(?). I was sure I wouldn’t like them but I was definately wrong. Where it’s been so warm I really have not wanted to bake or cook, hence the lack of material for posts. Last weekend AJ’s Mom came for a BBQ and I really wanted to send her home with something sweet, so I whipped these up in about 15 minutes and let cool in the fridge for an hour. I hope you try this recipe as it’s super quick, almost no fail and it really is delicious, think skor bar in cookie form.

Chocolate covered Toffee Graham Cracker Brittle

  • 1/2 package of graham crackers (one sleeve) I have also use regular saltines and they are great too
  • 1 cup of butter or margarine
  • 1 cup of packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 bag of semi sweet or dark chocolate chips
Method
Preheat oven to 350.
Prepare a regular sized cookie sheet with non-stick spray and lay out all the crackers are evenly as possible to line the bottom of the sheet.
 
In a medium sauce pan combine butter and brown sugar and melt over medium high heat ensuring to continuously stir.  You will want to bring this to a gentle boil for about 2 minutes. Make sure the mixture is combined well as you are essentially making candy.
 
Pour butter/sugar mixture over crackers and spread with a back of the spoon as evenly as possible.
Pop into the oven for about 5 minutes. Everything should be bubbly and cracker should be coated well.
Remove and sprinkle chocolate chips as even as possible and put pan back in the oven for about 45 seconds to a minute. Remove for the last time and with the same spoon, spread the now melted chocolate over the top of the crackers.
 
Let rest for about 15 minutes, then place in the fridge or freezer to cool. Once it has completely set, about 1 hour, break apart. You can break into squares but I prefer mine to look like brittle. With a knife lift up the confection and break into the size you want. I usually will portion them out and throw them in the freezer from there. I would suggest storing them in the fridge or freezer in the summer, in the winter it’s fine to have them at room temperature. Enjoy!
 
One thought on “I-don’t-know-what-to-call-it-other-than-addicting

Tell me what you think!

