Vegan Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

My co-workers are fundraising for the walk for Ovarian Cancer coming up in about 2 weeks in Halifax. As a woman I feel it is such an important cause as there are currently no tests to screen for this deadly disease.  Unfortunately I’m not going to be part of the walk however I wanted to contribute to the fundraising. Besides having some wicked draws at work they also put together a bake sale, which is where I come in.

While there are quite a few Vegetarians in the office as well as some individuals with food allergies I felt making a vegan baked good would be the way to go. I’ve been dying to make Lemon Poppy Seed cake all summer because I love the freshness of lemons. After doing a little research I stumbled (figuratively not literally) upon a site called Feed Me I’m Cranky which is a life blog about the author’s journey from obese to forever fit. While this cake obviously fits in as an occasional treat on ones road to physical happiness, it sure makes it sweeter along the way. 

The cake is very dense, think pound cake and think moist.  Instead of icing it I made a simple glaze of lemon juice, zest and icing sugar. I altered the recipe slightly which I do understand is an alteration of another recipe which she indicates on her blog.  To view her original recipe for this cake as well as it’s history please click here. Below is my version, slightly abridged.

Vegan Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups vegan sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 1 teaspoons almond extract
  • Juice of one lemon approximately 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup poppy seeds

Glaze

  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 + 1/2 icing sugar
Method
Preheat oven to 350
Prepare a 9×13 baking pan with non-stick spray.
Combine all dry ingredients including poppy seeds and zest in a large bowl. In a separate medium sized bowl combine all the wet ingredients. Add wet to dry, batter is relatively thick and should not show lumps or bumps. Try not to over mix.
Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 40 minutes. At this time prepare the glaze by adding all ingredients, mixing thoroughly and setting aside.
I found the sides of the cake do brown up but  the top didn’t brown and mine was fully cooked at around 35 minutes. To check doneness insert a toothpick in the centre, if it comes out clean then the cake is done.  Immediately after the cake is removed cover with glaze. The the glaze will be absorbed by the cake and gives it another dimension of lemoniness.
3 thoughts on “Vegan Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

  1. Pingback: Lemon almond cake | Mojo Central

  2. I just made it and the result is absolutely astonishing!!
    Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it just became my number one favourite.
    I turned vegan 4 months ago and used to cook delicious cruelty full cakes before I made that change. I was pretty talented at it I must say, and it was kinda hard for me to learn to cook from scratch.
    So I tried some good and bad vegan recipes.
    Was mostly disappointed by the results…
    But this one… Is just PERFECT!
    I only put one cup of sugar though, cause I’m not used to eat a lot of sweet, it turned out mouthly orgasmic 🙂
    My omnivore friends are absolutely in love with this cake too.
    I’ll recommend it !!

    Thanks again for sharing

    Cruelty free love from France

    Léa

Tell me what you think!

