BBQ Pizza

Oh Hot Damn Yes

So one of my summer goals this year in regards to a food challenge of sorts was BBQ’ing a pizza. I accomplished this last weekend. I made a dough recipe found on the www.cookingbread.com, I made a pizza sauce from scratch. I based this with some quick to prepare herb oil and next thing I knew I had perfectly cooked, smoky tasting pizza margherita (of sorts). It seems like a lot of effort but pizza is a lot of effort. The dough turned out great and will be hard to go back to oven pizza after doing it on the BBQ. The one thing I have read over and over about BBQ pizza is to be light on the toppings and this is true, it’s hard to get off the BBQ in one piece if there is too much going on. I’d like to do some flat breads as an experimental and dress them mostly off the BBQ. This is definitely a must try and with summer escaping us in the next month or so, GET on this now! I followed the recipe for dough verbatim so the link is located below with the recipe. The pizza sauce I created is similar to a pasta sauce I usually make and I just simply topped with cheese.  If I can pass along one piece of advice it would be to not overload the toppings, the dough will bend  under the pressure and the flavour should stay simple to bring out the grilled taste.

BBQ Pizza

Dough  

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon instant yeast
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3/4 cup lukewarm water
  • 1/2 cup of herbed oil for basting the dough
Method
Add the flour, instant yeast, salt and olive oil. Mix with a wire whisk till everything is well mixed.
Make a well in the middle and pour in the water. Knead for 5 minutes. You want the dough to be slightly sticky. So, if you need to add a little more water just add 1 teaspoon at a time.
Add a little olive oil to a bowl and add the dough. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rest for 1 hour or till double in bulk. Sprinkle a little flour on a flat surface and place the dough on the flour. Do not punch down the dough. Cut the dough in half with a sharp knife.
Place one piece back in the bowl for later. Take the other piece of dough and stretch out the dough with your hand to a 18 x 5 inch.
 

Place onto a piece of parchment or wax paper and brush with the herbed oil. Place pizza oil side down onto a very hot grill and allow to sit till the dough starts to bubble. Use tongs and peek under the dough to make sure you don’t burn the bottom. brush the top of the pizza with more olive oil and flip with your tongs. Cook just till done. Remove and place any topping you want and then place back on the grill on medium heat for about 3 minutes. Cut and serve.

 

 

Author’s Note* When making pizza’s on the BBQ please remember that less is better. You can not add the same amount of cheese and expect it to melt. Be sure to read my blog about this. http://www.thekneadforbread.com

 If you are interested in my sauce follow my simple sauce recipe. You will need to cut out half the oil, use 1 small onion and really drain the tomatoes before adding them to the onion mix. I also added quite a bit of chilli flakes to bring up the heat. The sauce was super thick and I didn’t blend it as much.
  
Tell me what you think!

