Fettuccine Alfredo with Friends

I love meeting up with friends and having some great wine and some delicious food. I have been lucky to have many friends (and family) who are excellent cooks as well as have wonderful tastes in restaurants. Restaurants and friends are the reason  I have been slacking on the blogs posts lately and I’ve been having a great time.

Through the week, like most people, I find it hard to want to cook so I’ve been grabbing the frozen pizzas and the phone for dinner options. Last weekend we decided to stay in and have dinner with Kelly, Dan and Omar. It turned out to be a potluck in which with stuffed our bellies with mix of really great food. Dan made a delicious light salad of mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, bocchini, garlic and olive oil. Omar was hard at work preparing delicious fatayers filled with kalamata olives and feta which I may or may not have gorged myself on. PS Omar I need your family recipe please and thanks! I made some boyfriend friendly food of garlic cheese bread as well as Fettuccine Alfredo both of which were quick and fat and flavour laden. Kelly brought over some amazing ice creams and we drank red and rose sparkling wines.

I had a wonderful time, but the whole thing just reinforced to me that food doesn’t need to be complicated or time consuming to prepare. It’s much better to get together with friends and have a simple meal then fuss over a stove for hours and neglect  your friends or family.

Fettuccine Alfredo

  • 1 pkg of dry fettuccine pasta
  • 1+1/2 cups of heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup of salted butter
  • 1 cup of quality parmigiana plus extra for garnish
  • 1 clove of garlic peel and smashed
  • fresh ground pepper  and chives for garnish

Method

In a large pot fill 3/4 full with water and season liberaly with salt. Place over high to come to a boil.

Grate parmesan and set aside.

In a medium heavy bottom sauce pan add butter, cream and garlic and set aside.

  

Once the water has come to a boil add pasta and stir to stop the noodles from clumping together. The pasta takes about 10 minutes to cook.  So as you add the noodles start heating the cream mixture through over low heat butter should be melted and mixture well combined.

Once the pasta is al dente (so has bite to it) remove from the water and strain.  In a large bowl add strained pasta ans toss with cheese. Remove the garlic clove from the cream mixture and pour hot cream into the cheese covered pasta. With tongs toss, the cream will thicken and adhere to the pasta. Serve immediately with loads of  fresh pepper, more parmigiana and garnish with chives.

Just as a side note I wanted to showcase Omar’s fatayers as they were compltely addictive and I hope I get a chance to make them in the near future. When I do I will definitely post on it as they look simple but seem like they would be fairly complicate to make. If you don’t know what a fatayer is it’s a small dough pocket filled with anything from spicy minced meat  to spinach and onion. You can really stuff them with anything and the feta and olive is probably my favourite. The stuffing is so salty and complements the slight sweet soft and flaky dough. It’s a great appetizer and party food!

Tell me what you think!

