Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake Bars

Happy Birthday Leo!

Last weekend was my good friends birthday, I know I just made a cake but it seems a lot of my friends like to be born close together, usually populating the better part of the fall or the spring. I love making cakes for friends of mine, it one of the best types of gifts in my opinion. Who doesn’t want a  homemade cake for their birthday??? I know! I love it when people bake and cook for me! Anyway this post isn’t about me, it’s about Leo and it’s about a whole lot of delicious.  So back to these bars.. I made one alteration mostly because I couldn’t find miniature chocolate chips and I was in a hurry to get to the grocery store, shop, get back home and then bake. I picked up a Oreo no-bake dessert instead of the box of Oreo crumbs I had wanted. Luckily I’m a resourceful woman… thanks Mom, and just bucked up and made some pretty awesome squares.

I was completely in awe of this recipe I found on That Winsome Girl and really recommend checking her out. She has some feminine delicate photos of some down right delicious stuff. I’m going to post my alterations (barely any) below.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake Bars

recipe is adapted from The Essential Chocolate Chip Cookbook posted on The Winsome Girl

Crust:


1 1/2 cups graham cracker or Oreo crumbs
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
2/3 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips, optional

Preheat oven to 325°. Butter a 8″-square baking pan. Line pan with parchment paper, leaving enough to extend over the sides. Butter the parchment paper.

Combine graham or Oreo crumbs and butter until crumbs are moistened. Stir in chocolate chips. I omitted these.

Press crust mixture into bottom of pan and 1 inch up sides. Bake for 6 minutes. Set pan on wire rack to cool.

  

Cookie Dough:
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (I used miniature)

Using an electric mixer , mix butter, brown sugar, sugar, salt, and vanilla extract at medium speed until smooth. Decrease mixer speed to low and add flour. Mix just until incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips. Shape into teaspoon size balls. Chill while making cheesecake filling.

  

Filling:


10 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Using an electric mixer, beat cream cheese and sugar just until smooth. Add egg and vanilla extract, beating just until blended.

Pour batter into baked crust. Drop cookie dough balls over the top of the filling.

 

Bake about 30 minutes, or until set but still wobbly in center. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

For chocolate topping, melt 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips in a double boiler or in the microwave ( I took The Winsome Girl’s advice and heated the chocolate up in a ziploc however I created a water bath with a bowl). Add about 1/2 tablespoon of butter if necessary to make chocolate smooth. Drizzle over top of bars. Once the pan feels cool to the touch, chill the bars completely in the fridge overnight before cutting.

  

Using the edges of the parchment paper, remove bars from pan. Cut into bars and serve.

 

Tell me what you think!

