Tofacon

Tofu-facon? Tofacon (toe-fake-on)? I am trying here. What would you call it?
About a year ago I saw an amazing looking recipe fort tempeh bacon. I tell myself every month I’m going to walk over to Planet Organic and get some tempeh because while we sell it in Halifax, I only can find it there. That being said I know it’s got to be in one of the many Asian Food markets in Halifax, which I generally avoid because I know I will leave with a stock pile of soy products. Either way, I didn’t have tempeh in my fridge, I had tofu. Now I should warn you this isn’t bacon, it has a really nice texture, it’s sweet and salty and it fakes it well in a TLT(tofu, lettuce, tomato). That being said, my non-veg boyfriend actually liked it(success). He may have said it reminded him of bologna (ewwwww) but I think it was the texture.
Tofacon
  • 1 block of firm tofu
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce (low-salt)
  • 1/2 tbsp seasame oil and olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1-3 tbsp maple syrup
  • a few dashes hot sauce
  • liquid smoke and salt and pepper to taste
Method
The night before remove tofu from packaging. Wash and roll the tofu up in a clean dish towel. Place some paper towel on top of a dinner plate and place the wrapped tofu on top of that. Cover with another dinner plate and something heavy and leave to press over night.
The next day, pre-heat the oven to 325F thinly slice the tofu and set aside.
Make the basting liquid – in a medium bowl mix oils, soy sauce, liquid smoke, smoked paprika, hot sauce, and half the maple syrup.
Line a large baking pan or cookie sheet with permanent paper and spray with non-stick spray. Place tofu evenly over the baking sheet making such each piece has space. Sprinkle with salt and go heavy on the fresh ground pepper.
With a basting brush, brush each piece of tofu on the top side and place in the over for about 8 minutes. Flip tofu,brush alternate side and bake on that side for about 8 minutes.
Increase the heat in the oven to 425F. Turning the tofu once again and applying basting liquid, leave them to cook for an additional 5 minutes. By this time the syrup will be browning the tofu as well as the oils will make it look like it’s frying.
Add the remaining syrup to the little basting liquid you should have by now mixing well. Turn the tofu once more baste with liquid and salt and pepper once more. Watch in the last 5 minutes as this can burn quickly. I prefer it really dark, however depending how even your slicing was you may need to remove pieces of tofu from the baking sheet as you go.
Let cool and enjoy. This will store in the fridge for a few days if it will last that long.
Tell me what you think!

