Dark Chocolate Truffles

I tend to write more about my kitchen successes however like everyone else I sometimes just bomb a recipe either through my misinterpretation of the recipe (aka looking at the ingredients but not reading the steps) or by my adventurous nature (trying to adapt one recipe to create another). This will be  a tale of a high note and a several low notes.

For Christmas this year I really wanted to make a few things. One being liqueurs which I’ll post about shortly and the other, truffles. Now all I’ve ever read or heard about making truffles is true, they are easy and delicious. So I set off to the grocery store to flip flop over what chocolate to buy. I knew my boyfriends Mother only like dark chocolate so that was a no-brainer and AJ likes white and milk chocolate. I was worried milk chocolate wouldn’t make a good truffle so I took a gamble and bought white chocolate with cookie pieces in it. I gathered the rest of the supplies and headed home.

On Christmas Eve day I cleaned house and started the dark truffles. I found a recipe that looked promising on canadianliving.com  that I then I adapted for the quantity of chocolate I bought and what my plans were. I more or less followed the recipe but I split each batch into two and made an almond flavored dark and a plain dark. With the white I made a plain one and made a candy cane flavored one. I was stoked, they just needed to chill to set then I needed to roll them and package them. In the mean time I had gifts to wrap and laundry to do.

AJ and I ended going out for breakfast because the kitchen was a mess and when I came back I was super excited to see that the dark chocolate had set perfectly and I got to work on rolling and packing. Before I knew it they were done and looked irresistible. I moved on to the next, the white chocolate ones, which I had planned to serve to my friends when they came over later that day. They did not set. I tried to chill them in the freezer, I even tried to roll them despite being a soupy texture and nothing worked. I don’t know if it was just a white chocolate thing or the fact they had cookie bits in them or maybe I added too much cream or candy cane. What ever it was, I was super bummed. I immediately went to plan B, what can I make with this mint chocolate cookie white chocolate disaster? I thought of short-breads and cake and then settled on a grandiose blondie. I took two-thirds of the truffle mix and stirred in flour, more candy cane, an egg, salt and baking powder and then finally about 50 grams of very good dark chocolate bits I had left over. I baked it for about 25 minutes in a 350 oven and made the house smell amazing. I let it cool about 45 minutes and when it was just above room temperature iced it with the remaining white chocolate truffle. It was just warm enough it created a beautiful frosty glaze. I was happy again. I washed up, and finally went to sit in the living room.

My dogs are very much here, there and everywhere you are dogs. If you are doing something, they need to know what. I was sitting on the couch in the living room with my boyfriend and Gambit, Rogue however was in the kitchen. It was awfully quiet which is not a trait usually associated with Rogue. I called her name and I heard a slow stepping dog. I got up, looked down the hallway and her ears were pasted to the side of her face, her gaze looked downward and as she slowly met me halfway down the hall she did the slow wag as if to ask ;is she going to notice anything is different?’. I immediately knew she did something, I was hoping it was peed on the floor or got in the garbage but I knew she  ad done something to my pan of blondies. I went in the kitchen, looked on the counter and there was a few licks of glaze completely missing form the cake. Rogue! My perfectly warm, kitchen sink blondie had been tainted, and in the garbage it went. I was so upset as it was such a waste of good ingredients I thought of ways to salvage it but at the end of the day no one wants to eat a cake that a dogs mouth had been on. Time to move on.

So below is a recipe for dark chocolate truffles which I adapted from Canadian Living, I encourage you to try them as they make a great gift and are super easy to make. They would be awesome to serve on New Years Eve if you are having a fancy soiree, just don’t make them with white chocolate or leave your dogs unattended in the kitchen.

Dark Chocolate Truffles

  • 300 g of a good dark chocolate cut into small pieces
  • 2/3 cup plus 2 tbsp heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup salted butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla/almond/mint/rum extract or 1 tbsp flavoured liqueur (bailey’s, ameretto, creme de menthe)
  • chopped nuts, cocoa, chocolate shavings, coconut, sprinkles, crushed candy to roll truffles in

Method

Using a sharp knife cut up chocolate into small pieces( smaller than chocolate chip size if possible) and put in a large heat proof bowl.

In a medium sized heavy bottomed pan heat cream and butter just to a boil. Once it is about to boil remove form the stove and pour it into the bowl with the chocolate. Stir until it is all combined. At this point if you are making only one kind of truffle add which ever extract or liqueur you would like. I separated mine into two smaller bowls and added almond extract to one and vanilla to the other. Combine well and place in your fridge for about two hours to set.

 

While chocolate is setting , make toppings by roasting almonds, peanuts or cashews and then chopping them up and setting aside. Cocoa is great you can just take out about 1/4-1/2 cup and set aside. If you have extra dark chocolate shave, grate or finely chop it and set aside in small bowls. For candies such as candy canes I just put in my mini food processor and ran it in spirts until it reached the size I wanted.

Once chocolate is set spoon out the truffles in about 1- 1 1/2 tsp amount sizes and roll quickly with your hands and then roll in topping. As the origonal recipe suggested a melon baller would be perfect but I didn’t have one so I went with my measuring spoon that had a very rounded shape and it worked fine. It’s really OK if these are not perfectly shaped so don’t fuss over it too much or you’ll end up with a melted mess. Set aside each truffle in a  muffin cup liner or a truffle liner and leave to chill in the fridge until you are ready to serve.

Tell me what you think!

