Orange Scented Cuppins (?)

I hope everyone had a good holiday! I hope you ate yourself into a bigger pants size. I know I did. I really just don’t want to be alone on glutton island. Just so you know and can have some comfort, my fat pants are tight. I have eaten my way almost into 2012 but I’m not worried about that right now. I’m in love with the smells that are in my house. Orange, cinnamon, ginger and rum… it’s my favorite smells this time of year. Exercise and diets are so 2012.

So while you are probably sick of food in general, I hope I can entice you with these spicy cup-cake-muffin things. I came up with the word ‘cuppin’ and if you have any dirty feeling inside when you say cuppin be thankful I didn’t go with the alternative; muffcake. Makes 1 dozen muffins.

Orange Scented Muffins

  • 1 +1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp orange zest
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 cups water
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp dark rum
  • Juice of one orange
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Topping

  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 2 tbsp raw sugar
  • 4 tbsp roasted chopped almonds
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Method

Preheat oven to 350
Prepare a muffin tin with liners. Prepare the topping  by adding all ingredients, mixing and set aside.
Combine all dry ingredients  in a large bowl. In a separate medium sized bowl combine all the wet ingredients. Add wet to dry, batter should not be lumpy but try not to over mix.
Pour batter, about 1/2 cup each, into a muffin cup.  Spoon about 1/2 tsp of topping over each cuppin. Bake for about 20-25 minutes.
To check doneness insert a toothpick in the centre, if it comes out clean then the cuppin is done. Enjoy with a mulled wine, hot apple cider or a warm tea!
Tell me what you think!

