New Year Refocusing and Candy Liqueurs

It’s almost the middle of January! Happy Belated New Years to you all!

Just so you know, I had the best intentions for a glorious post of New Year’s refocusing (not one for resolutions). I was hoping to post about what was super popular on v-spot  in 2011 and also finally get that post out about the candy liquers I made for my Mother over Christmas. Obviously (and unfortunately) NONE of this happened although I’d love to convey that I thought about it on January 1st, 3rd, 7th and 10th. I’ve been thinking about ya’ll, this blog and what I want to write about. Really I promise! I’ve planned out recipes and executed some. I also have been kind of cursing, on the daily, about my need for a new camera and a source of natural light. I think the winter blues is setting in.

To recap the last 2 weeks, January 5th was my Father’s Birthday. The day before I had some shoes delivered which were in the style of motorcycle boots. This seemingly makes no connection yet, but, he was probably where I got my shoe obsession. Wearing those boots made me feel like a was a kid shuffling around in daddy’s shoes all day. I couldn’t wear them on his Birthday. I listened to Cat Stevens while I rode the bus, and then tried to forget about it for the next 8.5 hours.

His absence doesn’t feel like a missing piece of my life, the proverbial hole feels like a missing opportunity I could have had to reconnect. Therefore my most important resolution (refocus) is for love in 2012. I’ll be the first to admit I’ve lost patience and sympathy at the end of 2011 due to my many negative circumstances that piled up, but I’m happily on the mend. I need to remember while my family needs are my first priority, I’m not the only person bad things happen to. So to toast to this realization and to admit I need to refocus my priorities for this new exciting year ahead of me, here is a recipe for super simple candy liqueurs.

 

Jolly Rancher Liqueur

  • 15 cherry jolly ranchers
  • 5 green apple jolly ranchers
  • 750 ml of premium vodka ( I used Sky)
  • a glass container that holds about 900-1000 mls

Chocolate-Candy Cane Liqueur

  • 3 candy canes broken into 1 inch pieces (you can use peppermint extract as well)
  • 375 mls of each creme de cacao and premium vodka
  • a glass container that holds about 900-1000 mls

Method

For both of these liqueurs add the candy to clean reseal-able bottles and pour alcohol over the candy. It takes about 24 hours to dissolve, shake, decorate and serve.

As these were presents, I found a few cocktail recipes and printed them on marbled paper to create a label. I actually bought the bottles as a drink called Efferve which is a beautifully bottled sparkling lemonade. I cleaned, sterilized them and dressed them up with ribbon.

While the liqueurs are sweet, they are great for mixing into cocktails and super easy to make.

2 thoughts on “New Year Refocusing and Candy Liqueurs

  1. They are beautiful Amy however I cannot read the labels, when I was transporting them I think they rubbed together and I cannot see what the mix is. So if you would kindly send me what was on the label I would appreciate it. I have had a sip of both and they are truly delicious. Just would like to mix them the way you suggest. xoxo

    • I found these on a site called http://mixthatdrink.com The first one is a layered shot:

      German Cherry Bomb

      1/2 ounce Godiva chocolate liqueur
      1/2 ounce cream
      1/2 ounce cherry liqueur

      Pour the cherry liqueur first. Carefully layer the Godiva on top of it. Finish with a layer of cream.

      This is a cocktail:

      Chocolate Peppermint Stick

      2 1/2 ounces of chocolate candy cane liqueur
      1 ounce cream

      Shake well with ice. Strain ingredients into chilled martini glasses. Garnish with a small peppermint candy cane and serve.

      I’m sorry I can’t remember the last one!

Tell me what you think!

