Rustic Apple Tart for AJ

For those who know me well, I have few coping mechanisms for my emotions:
When I’m angry, I either clean like a crazy person or I have a good run. When I’m depressed I usually write, read or go for long walks with my dogs. But when I’m stressed, I bake, and when I’m stressed I eat loads of fresh baked goods. Eating and baking in a time of stress is only good for making and keeping friends, not for your waistline. Is it bad I secretly wished my current stress would turn into a little anger right now? Maybe I would get off the couch, into my running gear, out of the kitchen and run far, far away from flour, sugar and butter.
Just so you know, the last thing I stress baked was this tart. I stressed baked it so efficiently that I do believe I got up to nap (to avoid cleaning) and got distracted by the apples on my kitchen table. This pie was the easy way out, I’m not ashamed.
Rustic Apple Tart

Pie Crust

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 egg
  • 1-3 tbsp ice water
Apple Filling
  • 5 small/medium sized apples, peeled, cored and sliced
  • 3 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 juice of a lemon

Method

Make the pastry. Mix the dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl. Using a pastry knife or two butter knives, cut in the shortening into flour mixture until they are pea-sized flour covered pieces. Lightly beat egg in small dish before adding to the flour/shortening mixture. With a fork or your fingers, gently combine beaten egg and apple cider vinegar. If the mixture is too dry add 1 tbsp of ice water at a time, no more then 3 tbsp. If you find it too wet add 1 tbsp of flour at a time until dough it moist but workable. The dough should still be slightly crumbly, don’t worry it will roll out nicely.

Roll dough out on to floured parchment paper, until you have close to an 18″ diameter. It’s OK if it’s not even, it’s actually preferable if the shape is a little wonky. Just try to keep the thickness of the dough consistent.

Cover with more parchment and a damp tea towel, letting the dough rest at room temperature while you prepare the filling.

I would suggest using softer apple for this tart (i.e mcinstosh). If you want a tarter apple, such as a granny smith I would highly suggest you satuee the apples in butter until they are partially cooked before adding to the tart to bake. This tart doesn’t cook for long and the pastry doesn’t entirely cover the top to allow the apples to steam.

Preheat oven to 350.

Peel, core, and thinly slice the apples. Place apples in a medium sized bowl and toss in lemon juice. Add brown sugar and cinnamon and coat well.

Pour apple mixture into the middle of the pastry dough, make a high mound, they will cook down. With your hands supporting the edges of the dough, fold upward unto the apple mixture. The top will be open, any stray bits of pastry that fall off gather and top the opening with. Sprinkle with a little brown sugar.

Bake in a preheated oven for about 25 minutes. Crust will be golden brown and flaky, apples will be tender when peirced with a fork but not mushy.

Let rest few minutes before cutting, serve warm with vanilla ice cream or vanilla soy ice cream.

Tell me what you think!

