Spicy Sticky Sweet – BBQ Baked Tofu

Who says vegetarians can’t have soul food? 

I really don’t know what has been stopping me all this time other than the fact (as Sue and I were discussing) tempeh would be the best suited for BBQ flavours. Unluckily for me tempeh lives at the health store not in my everyday grocery store, so me and tempeh have a long distance relationship. Feeling neglected and needy I fell back on my old love, tofu.

I thought I’d give my Mom’s tried and true recipe for rib sauce a go. The result was extremely delicious and addicting. Unfortunately it’s been super grey out so my pictures are a little dingy but I hope it looks as good to you as it tasted to me!

And remember….It’s all about the sauce. 

 BBQ Baked Tofu 

  • 1 package of firm or extra firm tofu, drained over night

Ribless Sauce

  • 1/2 cup of ketchup
  • 1 clove of garlic, grated
  • 2″ piece of ginger, grated
  • 4 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika or liquid smoke
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 tbsp rub seasoning or chili powder (good substitute)
  • 1/2 jalapeno, sliced into rings
  • 1 medium onion, sliced into rings
  • 4 cloves of garlic peeled and smashed
  • salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Method

Drain tofu overnight. I usually wash it, wrap in a few paper towels then a tea towel and leave in the fridge overnight with a container of juice or can of tomatoes on top.

Preheat oven to 350.

Cut tofu in half length-wise. Cut each of those pieces in half width wise, then cut into thirds so you have 12 pieces about 1″x1″1+1/4″ x 3+1/2″.

Prepare onions, whole garlic cloves and jalapeno. Heat olive oil in a medium sized pot and stir fry veggies over medium. Mix ketchup, ginger,  grated garlic, ginger, vinegar, sesame oil, soy sauce, and spices.

  

When veggies are browned, add ketchup mixture to the  same pot.Season with salt and pepper if needed. Add sliced tofu to coat. Pour into a prepared 9×9 pan. Bake for about 40 minutes, turning half way. The sauce will really brown and caramelize, the tofu will absorb all the flavour.

The best texture is after the tofu has cooled, but there is no stopping you from eating it right away. Serve with greens and grits or mashed potatoes and biscuits…. yummm.

  

Tell me what you think!

