Twice Baked Sweet Potato with Kale

 I have never loved a sweet potato more than in twice-baked form. I may have a problem in the near future, hopefully we will share the same problem after you read this post. A few weeks ago I was stuck in the vortex that was Pintrest and I was inspired by a re-pin of one of my friends.  It was a link to Broke Ass Gourmet, a blog which I was already in love with. I say I was inspired by this recipe as mine is really nothing alike except I cooked a sweet potato twice and kale was involved. In fact, I saw the pictures weeks back and didn’t read the actual recipe until after I had cooked, photographed and eaten mine. Either way, it was inspiring and the blog is lovely! I used one rather large sweet potato, so half for each person would probably do, otherwise double the recipe.

Twice Baked Sweet Potato with Kale

inspired by Broke Ass Gourmet’s, Twice Baked Sweet Potato with Kale and Cheddar

  • 1 large sweet potato, baked with skin and cooled
  • 1 handful of kale, chopped fine ( spinach is a good sub in)
  • 1 + 1/2 tbs of light cream cheese
  • 1 tbs dijon mustard
  • red pepper flakes, garlic salt and pepper to taste
  • Parmesan/asiago (rennet free of course) for sprinkling

Method

Pre-heat your oven to 375. Prepare a baking sheet with a piece of parchment paper.

Wash, stem and chop kale and set aside. Slice a pre-cooked sweet potato in half. With a spoon, gently scoop out the flesh leaving a 1/2-1 cm boarder along the edges and bottom.  Place scooped out potato in a medium sized bowl.

 

Add mustard, cream cheese, kale and spices to the same bowl. Make sure your spices are well incorporated but mash the big bits roughly with a fork. It’s totally ok if there are chunks of cream cheese and or sweet potato, you may thank me for that advice later.

Split stuffing equally over 2 halves, sprinkle with your choice of cheese(I used asiago). Bake for about 10-15 minutes until it heated through well. Broil for another 2-3 to crisp up the top. Enjoy!

 

Tell me what you think!

