How to make the Perfect Grilled Cheese

Today is National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day (in the USA) and just so you know, I can’t support the facts, only the fever. So to kick off this holiday I’d like to show you how to make the perfect grilled cheese sandwich. I thought long and hard about this post, I wanted to do something crazy, I’m not going to lie, as I am a fancy-pants type of girl. I resisted however, because for something that is so easy and so iconic it’s something that stirs up a tiny bit of competition amoung friends. Yeah I said it, competition. I dare you to go up to any of your close friends and tell them you make the best grilled cheese. As soon as you do you’ll be met with a no-way! I totally make the best one or my Dad/Mom, Sister/Brother, Husband/Wife, Girl/Boyfriend makes the best grilled cheese EVER! What gets me the is what most people argue over. It’s not usually the ingredients as everyone likes different cheeses and textures. They tend to thrown down over the method in which they prepare it. The steps they take so methodically ever time, to get one of the most comforting and loved simple foods you can imagine. So here is my throw down on a classic grilled cheese and yes I have severally specific instructions for you and maybe a few ingredients that seem unconventional but trust me, totally necessary.

How to make the Perfect Grilled Cheese

  • Bread (I used store bought multi-grain bread, if you cut it yourself keep the thickness to 3/4 inch or thinner)
  • Cheese (use at least two kinds always a strong tasting cheese and a good melting cheese I used old cheddar and pizza mozzarella)
  • Sauce (cheese is fatty and really needs an acid to cut the richness, I grew up using mustard so for this I used Dijon but any sauce you love will work, just be light with it to prevent soggy bread)
  • Hellmann’s Mayonnaise ( I use the olive oil kind, you cannot sub for miracle whip OR butter because full fat mayo has a higher heat resistance aka melty cheese and crispy bread)
  • Seasoning (this is optional, I occasionally add garlic salt, pepper or red pepper flakes to my grilled cheese but it’s not necessary)
Method
Step one – Get all you ingredients out, including a non-stick pan on the stove pre-heating over medium heat.
Step Two – Slice thin pieces of sharp tasting cheese, I used cheddar, and grate the good melting one, I used pizza mozza (about 1/4 cup) which I highly recommend trying. You can add other cheese like asiago, feta, blue cheese but do so sparingly.
Step Three – Spread a small amount of sauce, Dijon, on each slice of bread. Add seasoning if you are down with that today.
Step Four – Top each slice of bread with cheese and close sandwich.
Step Five – Coat the side facing up with a thin layer of mayo.
Step Six – Place sandwich in pan mayo side down and cover. Let cook about 2-5 minutes, until the underside is perfectly brown.
Step Seven – When the sandwich is ready to flip, coat other side with a thin layer of mayo, then flip. Cook uncovered for about 2 additional minutes uncovered so the sandwich remains crispy.
Step Eight – Cut on a diagonal, and serve. Eat up and don’t share, unless it’s the recipe! YUM!
Oh and if you have perfected the classic, why not peruse some fabulous grilled cheese options. Here is my current top ten to try:
  1. Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese by Closet Cooking
  2. Greek-ish Grilled Feta Sandwich with Sauteed Green Garlic by Pithy and Cleaver
  3. Caramelized Onion & Mushroom Brie Grilled Cheese from BS’ in the Kitchen
  4. Green Goddess Grilled Cheese Panini by Panini Happy
  5. Rosemary Apple Butter Grilled Cheese Sandwich by The Kitchen Life of a Navy Wife
  6. “Green Bean Casserole” Grilled Cheese by From Away
  7. Jarlsberg Grilled Cheese with Arugula and Black Truffle Oil by Keep it Simple Foods
  8. Spicy Vegan Grilled Cheese Sandwich from The Hungry Birdie
  9. Grilled Cheese with Tomato, Pickles and Potato Chips by Care’s Kitchen
  10. Parmesan Crusted Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich by Two Peas & Their Pod

For more about grilling cheese vegan style check out this post from Healthy Happy Life! If you are craving the soup and grilled cheese sandwich combo -together- you have to try Roasted Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons by dinner or dessert.

7 thoughts on “How to make the Perfect Grilled Cheese

  1. Pingback: Dillicious Grilled Cheese | V-Spot

  2. I made the best grilled cheese I have ever made thanks to your instructions. I used fresh tomatoes, gouda, parm, dijon, fresh basil, and crusty bread. I spread the outside with the olive oil mayo you use, and it was FANTASTIC. Perfectly crispy on the outside, gooey and wonderful inside. Thanks so much!

Tell me what you think!

