Green Breakfast Smoothie

I’m super late, but I’m finally jumping on the green smoothie train. I have to admit, I’m not the type of girl who really likes to use smoothies as a meal replacement. I will sub them is as a dessert replacement when I want something sweet in the summer. I like them as a nice snack, or as a addition to a very light meal but the idea of having a green smoothie as my breakfast didn’t ever appeal to me. I guess sometimes you just have to try things to form healthier habits. I’m glad I did, as this was surprisingly delicious, filling and instantly gave me a ton of energy to start my day. It’s easy for your body to digest and I calculated the calories and it sits at 213 calories even though I used a high fat yoghurt. You can easily substitute the yoghurt for soy/almond or coconut milk and the frozen fruit for any combo you like. I would suggest keeping with the OJ as the juice, as the high acid and strong flavour that really helps mask the kale. If you aren’t ready for kale yet, or don’t have any available use spinach!
Green Breakfast Smoothie
  • 5-6 kale leaves, washed and stemmed
  • 3/4 cup frozen fruit, I used a peach, mango and strawberry mix
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 tsp flax seed
  • 2-3 tbs of Greek yoghurt or 1/4 cup of soy/almond/coconut milk

Method

You need a high power blender or hand blender for this recipe. Simply add all ingredients to the blender, or if you are using a hand blender like myself, they usually come with a cup specifically for making smoothies and juices. Blend well, ensuring there are no lumps or bumps. Add more juice or non-dairy milk to thin if you need to. Enjoy!

  

One thought on “Green Breakfast Smoothie

  1. Pingback: J is for | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

