Coconut Bacon

Now the recipe, I hope, you all have been waiting for. A recipe so good, it needs to come with a warning. Don’t worry it’s not a mean warning, it’s a helpful warning, because it really is, that good.

You are going to want to make this facon, you probably are not going to want to de-construct a coconut right away but think of my writing voice being your future self. Your future self who is standing at the stove stuffed to the gills and still picking away at the cookie sheet. The future self who feels like, ‘why, WHY didn’t I do this sooner?’

Now picture my writing voice as insight for right before you go to the grocery store.  If there was a time that you did eat bacon, and there is some meal or food you miss the taste of, get the ingredients for that. Write them down now, with the ingredients from the recipe below and go shopping immediately.

So if your favorite breakfast was pancakes and maple syrup with a side of bacon, you better be picking up stuff to make pancakes and triple checking you have maple syrup (you need it anyway).

For me that food was a BLT and my favorite way I remember having it was, was made on a bagel with tons of mayonnaise. I traded up my mayo for avocado sandwich spread to keep this indulgence vegan, but the next day I ate it on egg sandwiches, I crumbled it on salads, I snacked on it , cold, right out of a ziploc container. It’s that good.

After eating this facon, you may feel like you have to write fan mail, you may be compelled to comment, or you may decide you have to call in sick today from work. On second thought, maybe plan to make it this weekend.

 Coconut Bacon
  • a fresh coconut shelled and cut into thin strips (yields 2-2 1/2 cups)
  • 1 1/2 tbs maple syrup
  • 1 tbs sesame oil
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 2 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tsp liquid smoke
  • 1 tsp smoked/not smoked paprika
  • 1/2 dried rosemary
  • Freshly ground pepper and salt to taste

Method

You can get large flaked coconut, I am not sure if you can get it at the bulk barn but you may be able to get it at a health food store and this will do the same thing. Personally and without trying it that way, I still think I would prefer the fresh coconut. Luckily for you I just posted a step by step guide on how to to open one.

Pre- heat oven to 350.

Make the marinade by combining everything but the coconut in a medium bowl. Pour marinade over coconut and let sit for 15-30 minutes, turning every once in a while to make sure it’s evenly coated.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Turn out marinaded coconut onto parchment. Place in oven and bake for about 20-30 minutes overall.

After 10 minutes, remove from oven, salt and flip coconut. Place back in the oven and check on it about every 5 minutes after that turning when the edges seem to brown. The longer you bake it the more you should be checking on it because it will burn quickly once it gets to a certain stage.

Not every little piece is going to brown deeply but that is ok, when I reheated it I always did so in a non-stick skillet and browned it while I heated it through.

I like mine salty and I found adding sea salt during the cooking phase made it taste more authentic. If you are on a low salt diet, skip this step because it is a lot of salt and make sure you use the low salt/ light soy sauce.  Store in the refrigerator, it keeps for a week but it won’t last that long, trust me.

Ok…one more then I’m done.

Tell me what you think!

