Cilantro Mojito made with Dark Rum

Happy Victoria Day long-weekend! It’s so gorgeous out and I know none of you want to be hanging inside or looking at the computer, don’t think I haven’t noticed. I figured if I had any chance of winning your attention for a few moments it would be for booze so this is me trying to serve up some drink inspiration.

I often talk about the copious amounts of rum that are in my house, which is actually dropping at a more constant rate lately because I’ve been experimenting with rum cocktails. I’ve picked up cilantro lately, this is my Spring herb for sure, I throw into salads of all kinds, sauces and dips, even to just add to a sandwich. I happened across a post from Aarti Sequeria who teaches an easy way to keep cilantro fresh for weeks in your fridge which is great for all kinds of reasons, more cocktails being one of them. With these two ingredients combined, rum and cilantro, I my newest obsession was bornmakeshift-makewonderful-mojitos. Basil, cilantro or the classic, mint would all work well. The dark rum turns this mojito the colour of iced tea and I add a bit of fizz by using diet soda and use lemon slices instead of lime. Measurements and ingredients are for one drink.

Cilantro Mojito made with Dark Rum 

  • a few leaves of cilantro
  • 2 thin lemon slices
  • 1/2 tsp organic cane sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1.5 oz of dark rum
  • 2 ice cubes
  • diet lemon-lime soda, or sparkling water (sprite, 7-up)

Method

In a tall glass, add two thin lemon slices, washed and torn cilantro, sugar and a pinch of salt.

Muddle with a back or a wooden spoon or a proper muddling tool if you have one of those.

Add in rum, stir, top with a few ice cubes, then fill the remaining space in the glass with soda.

Enjoy!

Tell me what you think!

