Mock Tuna Salad

A lot of good happened in my life Monday. I went back to work from some time away and had an awesome day with my co-workers, old and new. I ate well all day, joined a gym and got to work out for the first time in ages and feel really great. When I got home from the gym I had a message letting me know that with my help, four dogs, possibly more if they find more able foster families, will be transported to Nova Scotia from New York in the search of their forever homes. I am still on cloud nine. I was so excited and exhausted I didn’t get a chance to finish this post as soon as I would have liked. 

With heading back to work I needed to think of quick and easy lunches to make, or suppers to prepare because I have a busy and active life. I have a job that I’m on my feet a lot, I have a house to clean and dogs to walk each day, a blog to write, recipes to create and now gym to go to. I squeeze in social time like and shopping at the market on Saturdays, wine nights with friends the occasional movie or dinner out and I think this is an average working life. There seems to be a growing trend of people who have little to no cooking skills combined with a busy life which inevitably leads to bad choices in food for convenience sake. I try hard to understand that and make it work in my life to (hopefully) help you in return.

I’ve seen mock tuna recipes all over the internet for ages, I was hesitant to try it because I thought there was no way it could taste like tuna, I don’t remember loving tuna when I ate it and I never had found out where to buy kelp powder in Halifax. I always have a few cans of chickpeas in my cupboard usually reserved for hummus, curries or salads . With my food processor broken and no extra cash to replace it now I’m having to rethink how I prepare things. No purred soups, smoothies or bean dips, sad I know. It was time.

I was surprised how much I liked this recipe, and bonus, it only takes five minutes to prepare. You can make the whole can of chickpeas or cut this recipe in half. I put it on a tortilla with salad greens one day and then made mock tuna melts the next. Both options were delicious so I took pictures of each. I didn’t use kelp powder, if you have some you can use 1/2 tsp-1 tsp in the recipe to give it a ‘fishy’ flavour. I think finely ground nori or dulse would work just as well. Without the kelp powder this still reminded me of tuna salad both in the texture and in the taste but what made it for me was the addition of celery so I would advise not to leave the celery out of the recipe.

Mock Tuna Salad

makes four sandwiches

  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 2 green onions
  • 1 small stalk of celery, washed cut in half lengthwise and diced
  • 6 black olives, pitted diced
  • a few sprigs of cilantro (optional)
  • 2-3 tsp grainy mustard
  • 1-2 tbs mayonnaise or veganaise
  • Old Bay seasoning, salt and pepper to taste

Method

Rinse and drain the chickpeas and add to a medium sized bowl. Wash and thinly slice the green onion, celery, cilantro and black olives and add to the bowl with the chickpeas.

Roughly mash with a fork until there are no whole chickpeas.

Add in grainy mustard and mayonnaise or veganaise and coat evenly. Taste and season with old bay seasoning, freshly ground pepper and salt to your taste.

Make sandwiches! Above I slathered on a few tablespoons of mock tuna to a whole grain tortilla and added salad greens for a 5 minute lunch.

The next day I turned it into a delicious mock tuna melt. If you are vegan, use the cheddar flavoured daiya. Turn your oven on broil. Use a hearty bread or toast an English muffin and add a few tablespoons of mock tuna to each side.

Place each sandwich half on a  non-stick pan and top with shredded cheese. Melt under the broiler until bubbly.

Remove from the oven and let rest a few minutes to not burn the roof of your mouth, I totally did not learn this from experience.

Serve with dill pickles! Yum!

2 thoughts on “Mock Tuna Salad

  1. Pingback: I is For… | V-Spot

  2. Pingback: Baked Faux-fish Sticks | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

