Chocolate Peanut Butter Chia Pudding

It’s Tuesday, you need a break and you probably deserve a treat. I know I do. I’ve been sick for over a week , I’m exhausted from all the Birthday celebrations and family time I’ve been participating in and now I’m pretty sure I have an infection in my tooth with the root canal or my ear. At this moment I can’t tell, it just hurts. The exhaustion part was at least worth it, due to the fact I had so much fun, but I don’t think it helped my body’s ability to recoup from this cold that feels like it’s taking over my life.  We were successful in surprising AJ on his Birthday, the real surprise is that I kept up a lie that well because I’m generally no good at it. Sleep is all I want to do now, but I have things I need to do, and will do, as soon as I feel better.

This recipe is so quick and easy you could make it even while sick with a toothache.  It’s not incredibly sweet so if you need some more sweetness add more maple syrup. If you have never had chia pudding, the texture is a lot like tapioca, only a smidgen lighter in taste. It’s a great summer treat packed with protein and healthy fats, and who doesn’t love chocolate and peanut butter pudding served in a margarita glass with salted peanuts?

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chia Pudding

  • 1+ 1/2 tbs peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup of chia seeds
  • a pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 tbs maple syrup ( or more to taste)
  • 1+1/2 tbs dark cocoa powder
  • 1 +1/4 cup vanilla almond milk (or soy milk)
  • pinch of salt

Method

In a medium sized bowl, combine peanut butter and syrup with a spoon.

Add in cinnamon, cocoa powder and salt and form a paste.

When smooth of all bumps, slowly add the almond milk in a few teaspoons at a time to loosen the mixture, until all the milk is added.

Measure out the chia seeds and add to the chocolate peanut butter base, stirring well.

Place in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours but you can leave overnight. When you are ready to serve, you may have to thin it out with a little more milk, or add a bit more syrup to taste.

Spoon into a pretty dish and top with salted peanuts!

Tell me what you think!

