Sesame Soy Kale Chips

I’ve never been so excited for the weekend. Well I probably have, but I am damn excited that I got to sleep in this morning. Thanks dogs! I’m going to try to enjoy this beautiful weather outside while getting my house cleaned up. Hang with my lover and hopefully have a fabulous lunch with my step father on Sunday. Patios and margaritas are in order.

In honor of a deservingly lazy weekend I’m giving you a super simple dehydrator recipe. Yes, more kale chips! If you are not feeling the vegan version of creamy onion and garlic kale chips that I’ve posted before I have an easier recipe coming up! Eventually I’ll finesse a perfect BBQ flavoured kale chip, but today is not that day! Today is a day for Sesame and Soy.

Sesame Soy Kale Chips

  • 1 1/2- 2 tbs of sesame oil
  • 1 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tbs sesame seeds
  • 1-2 tsp of old bay seasoning or to taste
  • a bunch of kale, washed, stemmed and patted dry

Method

Wash kale and remove stems. Break into 2 x 2 inch pieces and pat dry with a tea towel or in a salad spinner. Add to a mixing bowl and set aside.

Wash and trim a green onion and slice thinly. Add to a small bowl with sesame oil and soy sauce.

Stir and pour over kale. Massage oil into the leaves of the kale with your fingers.

When it all seems coated, sprinkle old bay seasoning and toss, repeat with the sesame seeds.

Lay each leaf out and flatten onto the dehydrator sheets. Turn your dehydrator on to 125 F and let dry for about 9 hours. The leaves will darken and get crisp.

Serve immediately or up to 24 hours, prolonged storage will tend to re-hydrate the chips.

One thought on “Sesame Soy Kale Chips

  1. Pingback: K is for… | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

