Seedy Oatcakes

I love Saturday mornings. I love them more when I know I can sleep in but I still get up early and start my day. I love that the house and the street are quiet and I can make my coffee, sit at my computer and work on my blog or get lost in ideas for food and craft.

I can take the time to make my breakfast and get ready. I start with coffee which usually takes me an hour to drink and then move on to some sort of breakfast. This morning I’m particularly inspired to make a whole bunch of things but my kitchen is a total mess.  If I sit here too long the dogs will let me know it’s time for a walk, or Leo might let me know it’s time for the gym. All of that is ok, because it’s Saturday and I have the whole day to get things done. Or not.

Sue bought me some beautiful coconut flour about 3 months ago. If you follow my blog you probably know I’ve been trying to use this stuff without much success. Coconut flour absorbs a lot of water but does not have any gluten to hold the goods together so it make baking a challenge. In an effort to make at least one gluten-free baked good I decided to try my hand at gluten-free oatcakes. I adapted a recipe from a blog called Unsweetened Cocoa, added some seeds for texture and crunch and they turned out fantastic. The coconut flour gives it a tiny bit of coconut taste, they held together but still have the crumbly texture of a crisp on the outside but tender and just moist enough on the inside. Like all oatcakes they are good with tea, and if you don’t like the rustic shape, you could easily cut them with a biscuit cutter or if you have chocolate on hand dip the ends of the cookies for a sweeter treat. I would suggest a nice dark chocolate for these oatcakes, it will complement the flavours. Makes 16 oatcakes.

Seedy Oatcakes

recipe adapted from Traditional Nova Scotia Oatcakes by Unsweetened Cocoa

  • 2 cups large flake oats
  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 2 tbs of flax seeds
  • 1 tbs each chia seeds and poppy seeds
  • 3/4 cup of butter/margarine/vegetable shortening
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tbs coconut cream or coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup of hot water

Method

In a large mixing bowl add oats, coconut flour, brown sugar, ginger, cinnamon, flax, chia and poppy seeds and mix well.

If you are using vegetable shortening you will need to refrigerate it before making the recipes. You could also throw it int he freezer about 30 minutes before making it. Otherwise if you are using vegan margarine or butter it should already be chilled and ready to use. I picked up Unsweetened Cocoas tip and grated my butter/margarine with a cheese grater. It worked really well. Unlike me though, I would suggest adding a little bit at a time and working into the oat mixture because mine reformed and had to be cut in again.

Cut butter into the oat mixture, until only pea sized pieces are found.

Add vanilla extract and coconut cream/oil and work through with a knife or fork. Heat the water almost to a boil and pour in while turning the dough 1/4 cup at a time. Dough should just come together with your hands.

Divide into two sections, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 F and prepare a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Remove the dough from the fridge one at a time, roll out until it’s about 1 inch thick and cut into 3 x 4 inch squares.

Gently place each cookie on the parchment lined cookie sheet and repeat with the second round of dough. I was able to fit all 16 on one sheet.

Bake for about 12-15 minutes, until the bottom edges start to brown. Remove from the oven and let rest on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes before gently transferring to a wire rack.

Store in an airtight container and serve with orange pekoe or black tea. Will keep for a week.

4 thoughts on “Seedy Oatcakes

Tell me what you think!

