Pares Balta Blanc de Pacs 2011

I’m sitting here in blog-land on a Monday evening, the dogs are walked and I may have eaten a few peirogies and poured myself a glass of white wine. This is real life. It may be Monday but after a very emotional Sunday, inhaling a huge bowl of popcorn chased down with light beer…all post gym, I might add…I’m accepting that as balance.

Today is not much different, I’m painfully aware that it’s Monday but I still need to unwind. A walk in the sunshine followed by some cathartic writing is exactly what I need. I had plans to actually give you a recipe, as I spent all weekend cooking, but as I’m sipping on some tart and refreshing wine I can’t help myself from telling you all about it.

It’s called Pares Balta Blanc de Pacs and it’s a Spanish blend of 42% Parellada, 25% Macabeu and 33% Xarel.lo; all grapes I have not knowingly tried before. It is an organic white wine priced at a great price of $12.99 and has an alcohol content of 11.5%.

This wine is soft and refreshing, tasting almost like apple cider without the carbonation. It has a tart drying after taste and that reminds me of eating pineapples.

It’s a young wine, not left in oak for long, which makes it an easy drinking, great summer sipper that I feel would compliment any fresh fruit dessert, especially strawberry shortcake. Next time you dine al fresco, close the deal with this fabulous after dinner wine.

For more information the NSLC tasting notes for this wine can be viewed here.

Tell me what you think!

