Blueberry Curaco Mint Ice Pops

We celebrated my mothers birthday yesterday with a great lunch outdoors at aMano. Most of the fam-dam was there and we had some nice champagne on the patio. Afterwards we strolled down the waterfront, stopping at Sugah for hand paddled ice cream and adhesive moustaches. Yes fuzzy, stick on moustaches. It was Beth’s idea and we did get a few family pictures out of it but I haven’t seen what they look like yet so the one below (pre-stache) will have to do.

Today I’m back to reality, getting up early and doing my thing with the doggies then I was out to visit some friends. I walked a lot today to get some sun and it’s hot out people and I have decided I don’t want to cook. The weather is too nice to be inside and it’s too warm to heat up the kitchen. I’ve been making icy-cold protein shakes for breakfast followed by, iced teas and iced coffees, sometimes sparkling juices, water and popsicles. I’ve tucked into a variety of cold salads at night, as well as crisp beer and I’ve ordered a little take-out for good measure when I feel like sticking to the sofa and not moving.

So what do you make in the summer swelter? Popsicles of course. Adult popsicles made with blueberries, blue curaco, strawberries and mint. Refreshing, cold and perfect for steamy weather.

Blueberry Curaco Mint Ice Pops

  • 1 +1/2 cup frozen blueberries or blueberries and strawberries
  • 3/4 cup of orange juice
  • 3/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 4-5 leaves of fresh mint
  • 1.5 ounces of blue curaco or orange flavoured liqueur

Method

In a blender or in a large liquid measuring cup add all ingredients. Be sure not to add extra alcohol although you can switch up the blue curaco for another flavoured liqueur just do not add any more than 2 oz or you will have super weak slush.

Blend all ingredients until smooth. If you want a super smooth popsicle, strain contents of blender through a wire mesh sieve before pouring the liquid into molds. I didn’t strain mine but the seeds, skin and mint leaves rose to the top creating two different textures in the popsicle.

Pour strained or unstrained mixture into the molds, top, and place in the freezer for at least 8 hours, or overnight. Enjoy outside in the warm sun with a side of cool breeze.Life is good (and tasty).

Tell me what you think!

