Cold Brewed Iced Tea and Iced Coffee

I love Summer. I love weekends. I’m generally full of love right now.

What makes summer, and weekends better? Cool drinks with the ones you love. Surprisingly they don’t have to involve liquor but if that is the drink you are looking for on this fine Saturday I have a few options Margarita, Pina Colada, Cilantro Mojito.

This morning I’m feeling like cold coffee, so I made hot coffee in my aeropress and poured it over ice. I added vanilla flavored almond milk and called it a day (or an iced americano). As I sip on it though it dawned on me that cold brewing ice tea and coffee is totally a thing. A simple easy thing that can be easily shared with you right now.

I haven’t made cold brewed iced coffee yet so I will give you my iced coffee recipe below. However, Simple Bites (blog) walks you through how to brew both tea and coffee here. If you are more interested in just the coffee aspect, you eatin’ nice (blog) shows you step by step instructions for cold brewed coffee with pictures here.

Iced Coffee

makes one large serving

  • 1 cup strong brewed coffee or 2 shots of espresso plus cold water
  • 1/4 cup of vanilla/chocolate flavored non-dariy milk
  • loads of ice
  • sweeteners are optional

Method

Brew coffee/espresso and chill. Add ice cubes in a large cup, pour over chilled coffee or espresso, add almond/soy milk, sweetener and water if you used espresso.

Shake or stir well, drink, enjoy, repeat often.

Cold Brewed Iced Tea

makes a pitcher full

  • 10 teaspoons of loose tea or 6 tea bags (I used green tea so it’s really light)
  • 1 2L container
  • water
  • 1 lemon sliced
  • 1/2 lemon juiced
  • sweetener (agave nectar, sugar, stevia, maple syrup)

Method

If you are using loose tea add to 2 layers of cheesecloth and tie securely with kitchen twine.

Add to a 2L container and cover with water until the container is almost full. Stir a few times and leave in your fridge for 12-18 hours.

Once the tea has sat overnight, add the juice from half a lemon, sliced lemon and sweetener and stir well.

Serve in tall glasses with plain or herb ice cubes, a lemon slice and a straw.

Tell me what you think!