Granola Protein Bites

 I had a jam-packed weekend and I’m currently trying hard not to fall sleep as I type but I wanted to share this with you.  I’m a huge hemp protein fan, and I feel a lot of people are not fans because of it’s texture. Hemp protein powder is not smooth like a lot of protein powders on the market, it’s more the texture of finely ground flax seed.

I happen to love the taste and I usually blend it in with my smoothies that include raspberries, blackberries or strawberries because the seeds in the berries match the seedy texture. It’s also good to throw into baked goods like oat cakes, hearty breads or even muffins. Most recently, I’ve been digging post workout snacks like these granola protein bites. My idea was to make a healthy version of a peanut butter ball. These bites are crunchy, a little chewy and contain way more protein and way less sugar and fat than your average pb ball. They are a great little pick-me-up post workout or great to break through the afternoon slump. Substitute almond butter for natural peanut butter, and adjust the sweetness to taste.  These come together in minutes, and will keep in the freezer for a few weeks.

Granola Protein Bites

Makes 16-18 truffle-sized balls.

  • 1 cup low fat granola (I used PC Blue Menu Almond/Raisin)
  • 2 tbs flax seed
  • 2 tsp chia seed
  • 3 tbs hemp protein powder
  • 1/3 cup plus 1 tsp of natural almond butter (or any nut butter)
  • 1- 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2-3 tsp of agave syrup

Method

I used President Choice Blue Menu granola pictured below, but any low-fat granola or substantial cereal would work well.

Add granola, flax seed, chia seed, hemp protein powder to a food processor and pulse for about 1-2 minutes until all ingredients are uniform in size.

Turn out contents into a medium sized bowl and add almond butter, vanilla and agave syrup. Combine with a spoon.

Mixture will be a little a bit crumbly, but should come together when rolled. If you like a sweeter taste, add stevia or more agave syrup.

Add about two teaspoons worth of dough into palms and roll until it forms a ball.

Place in a freezer safe dish and repeat until the mixture is gone. Keep in the freezer for a post workout protein filled snack.

One thought on “Granola Protein Bites

  1. Pingback: P is for… | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

