Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Occasionally on weekends I wake up early in the morning with a glorious plan for my day. Other days I roll around in the sheets, with one dog sitting on my head and one laying on my legs and think, I want pumpkin pie for breakfast. Believe it or not, both of those things happened to me this morning.  I have the most busy and fun weekend planned with lots of things to do in between. I may have even started celebrating last night and woke up (lets say) a little dehydrated. Unfortunately the dogs don’t care, they still need out and to have breakfast and after that was done I was on the hunt for a healthy fix to my issue; it just happened to need to taste like pie.

Besides having an alluring smell, without even turning on your oven, this smoothie is packed full of good stuff to start your day. Plus it tastes like pie, did I mention that yet?

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup of pureed pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond or soy milk
  • 1/2 cup of strong brewed chai tea (I used a green cardamom chai)
  • 2 tbs hemp protein powder
  • 1 teaspoon of chia seeds
  • 2 tbs whole oatmeal
  • a pinch of cinnamon
  • sweeten with agave or maple syrup to your taste
  • sunflower or pumpkin seeds for garnish

Method

Boil water to brew chai. I used 3 tsp of green cardamom chai and poured a little over 1 cup of water over the loose leaves letting it steep for about 5 -6 minutes.

While your tea is steeping add chia seeds, hemp powder and cinnamon to bowl and mix with the almond milk and let rest.

In the blender, or vessel good for using your hand blender, add pumpkin (mine was frozen in an ice cube tray last week when I made the pupcakes), oats. When the tea has finished steeping, add almond milk mixture to the pumpkin, along with the brewed tea and blend well.

Garnish with sunflower or pumpkin seeds. Makes one breakfast sized serving but doubles and triples well.

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

  1. Pingback: J is for | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

