Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownie Bars

Slutty brownies are all the rage (check out The Londoner for the original post). However not all of us like oreos, so I left them out. I thought about subbing in some chocolate bar pieces, or actually I really wanted whole peanutbutter cups but I refrained. I’m ok with downsizing the name and calling this version ‘promiscuous brownies’. 

I used a pre-made brownie mix… I know, gasp! It’s only because I had a package sitting in my cupboard that my boyfriend hadn’t used yet. Yeah I’m defending myself! You could, just as easily, use one of my brownie recipe here, or here (vegan version). Now for some Timberland – Promicious brownies, you’re teasing me, I got what you want and you got what I need.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownie Bars

for the cookie layer

  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup+ 2 tbs of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips

brownie filling or top layer

  • one box of brownie mix or one single batch brownie recipe

Method

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream butter with sugar. Add vanilla and eggs, mix thoroughly. In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients  Add dry to wet, and mix well. Add chocolate chips and combine. Place dough in fridge for about 30 minutes while the oven heats up and you prepare the brownie batter.

Make one standard brownie recipe or if you are like me and are using a pre-packaged mix, follow the instructions on the box. When the brownie batter is complete, set aside and remove the cookie dough from the fridge.

Prepare a 9″x9″ inch baking dish with cooking spray. Press cookie dough evenly into pan and smooth out the top surface. Mine creeped up the sides a little and that was a-ok with me.

Pour the brownie batter over the cookie dough. Even it out by giving it a few shakes and place in the middle rack of the oven to cook for about 35 minutes.

The edges of the brownies should be set with a jiggly middle. If you cooked it in a glass container you should be able to see the cookie dough should be golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool on a wire rack. Once completely cool cut and serve. The middle should be a little undercooked and fudgy with chewy cookie bottom. Makes these asap and often.

Tell me what you think!

