Herby Kale Pesto

Last weekend flew by. Flew! I’m pretty sure 10lbs has flown unto my body just as fast. On Friday I attended a chic house warming party with so many yummy snacks! Apparently I’m good at the game Apples to Apples and who knew I liked corn relish? Who?

Saturday started early with errands followed by a fabulous thirtieth birthday celebration which again included a buffet of anything your heart could desire as well as an amazing martini list, yum yum. Rimming birthday martinis with sprinkles really sets the mood, just sayin‘. 

On Sunday Leo got up early and I went to visit with my family. Mom made an amazing quiche, which I may have eaten three (THREE!) pieces, I wish they were small but they were regular sized at best. Leo and I then we went for a nice hike followed by shopping, followed by the laundry, followed by random cleaning, nacho making and eating and blogging. I’m spent. Enough already? I’m psychic.

Since it’s Monday, how do you fancy a 10 minute supper? Take some lovely stuff, grind it into a paste, cook some pasta, reserving some pasta water. Stir together and magic happens. The type of magic that is also called dinner. 

This pesto is vegan, and you can substitute just about any herbs and nuts of seeds. I made mine with 1/4 cup of oil because I like to add pasta water to lighten up the pesto and soften the kale  to make more of an herb sauce. If you like a more traditional-tasting pesto exchange the sunflower seeds for pine nuts, herb mix for basil and add the 1/2 cup of oil. Not vegan or iffy on kale pesto? Try this Spinach Walnut Pesto.

Herby Kale Pesto

makes 1+1/2 cups of pesto

  • 1/4 c of roasted sunflower seeds or pine nuts
  • 1 tbs fresh rosemary
  • 1/4 cup of loosely packed fresh basil leaves
  • 2 tbs (about 4-5 sprigs) fresh thyme
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast
  • 1/4-1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 + 1/2 (packed) cups of kale, washed and trimmed
  • ground pepper and sea salt to taste

Method

Wash and trim kale and herbs and set aside separately.

In a food processor combine sunflower seeds, garlic, herbs, nutritional yeast and pulse until everything is an even semi-coarse texture. Empty half of the mix into a small mixing bowl.

Add the prepared kale and 1/4 cup of the olive oil to the food processor with the remaining half of the herb mixture. Process until smooth, scraping the sides and adding extras olive oil as you go if needed.

Once the pesto is smooth, add it to the coarse ground pesto and season with salt and pepper.

This pesto is thick unless you add all the olive oil so my favorite way to eat this is to mix hot pasta with a little reserved pasta water to cook the kale slightly and create an herby and more health conscious sauce. Top with extra nutritional yeast for a cheesier taste. Eat immediately.

One thought on “Herby Kale Pesto

  1. Pingback: I is For… | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

