How to break down a Pineapple

I’m stretching out the last bits of Summer like I own it. I’m still wearing shorts and sandals, but I’m adding long cardigans. I’m walking to and from work with my sunglasses on. I’m still loving up bright colors and just gave myself a pretty pedicure. I even wore a white dress last weekend – rebel. yell.

One thing I haven’t been doing so much of lately is a ‘how-to’ post. In fact I think my last one was How to Open a Coconut. So in keeping with the tropical theme I present to you – How to break down a Pineapple. Please note my techniques don’t resort to interrogating the pineapple.

Fresh pineapple is glorious and sure you can buy them cold in an easy to cut form, but they still don’t taste as good as when just opened. Pineapple needs to be at room temperature and eaten immediately after cutting to have the best experience. So here is how you do it…

Pineapple selection:

No knocking, poking or prodding needed. Pineapples only need a leaf plucked form the crown to see if they are ripe. If one easily comes out you need to buy that pineapple and eat it today. If the leaf doesn’t come out easily you can still buy it but leave it on your counter for a day or two before cutting it open.

Level the Playing Field

This takes a little bit of knife skills so you need a good large chef’s knife and a large cutting board. First remove the top and slice about an inch off the bottom so it sits flat when upright.

Remove the Gnarly bits

Peel the pineapple. With your knife, make cuts about 2/3″ deep and 2″ wide, and remove the tough outer layer in sections. Sometimes you will see brown prickly dents which is totally OK. Once the skin is removed go back and trim up the edges.

Quarter

With the pineapple still upright, cut into quarters.

Remove the Core

Each quarter will have a fibrous core that comes to a point. Cut off the corner edge to remove the core. Repeat three more times.

Slice

Once the core is removed I like to cut each quarter into thirds or halves (depending on the size of the pineapple) lengthwise. From there I cut into bit sized sections.

Eat and Store

I would totally eat the whole thing right now, but pineapples are acidic and it’s hard on my mouth. If you don’t have a plan beyond eating it, you can store it in the fridge for about 2-3 days in an air tight container.

Tell me what you think!

