Mushroom Bulgur Miso Soup

My Fall is packed with plans, Nocturne plans. Wine date plans, Birthday and Thanksgiving plans, even doctor and dentist plans (cause I’m an adult). I obviously like to make the most of the season and Fall is the time for pumpkin and apples, squash and red wine. Tea becomes a more popular drink choice for me and I start making soups again. Quick-to-come-together soups so I can be out doing what I want, not stuck at home making lunches for the work week. Hearty and filling soups so I have the energy to do what I have planned. Lunch-worthy soups so I’m happy I brought my lunch and am not tempted by the goodies in the food court under where I work.

This soup was inspired by a classic beef and barley and I’m sure it doesn’t taste the same but it is chock full of umami flavours. It’s also high in fibre and low in fat.  Makes 4 medium sized lunch servings or two very hearty servings.

Mushroom Bulgur Miso Soup

  • 2 cups of crimini mushrooms, cleaned and diced
  • 2 tbs of butter or Earth Balance
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 medium onion diced
  • 3 large cloves of garlic diced
  • 2-3 sprigs of fresh thyme (1tsp dried)
  • 1 container of vegetable stock about 4 cups
  • 1/2 -1 cup of water
  • 1+1/2 tbs of miso paste
  • 1/2 cup of bulgur
  • salt and pepper

Method

Dice mushrooms and set aside separately from the diced onions and from the chopped garlic.

In a medium large stock pot, sautee diced mushrooms over medium heat in butter for about 3-5 minutes until they are cooked and the pan starts to leave gorgeous brown bits on the bottom. Remove the mushrooms from the pot and place in a bowl to set aside.

Add olive oil to the used pot, and onions and sautee for about 5-8 minutes until they are soft. Add in thyme and garlic and cook and additional 3-5 minutes until everything starts to caramelize and stick tot he bottom.

Add in water and use a wooden spoon to scrap all the good bits from off the bottom of the pot. Add in the vegetable stock and bulgur and bring to a boil. Once the mixture is boiling turn off the heat, add the miso, stir until dissolved then cover the pot and let sit for about 30 minutes.The bulgur will fully cook in this time.

When you are ready to eat, add the mushrooms, and simmer over low heat. Adjust the seasoning with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Garnish with a sprig of thyme, serve with a salad and a pinot noir.

One thought on “Mushroom Bulgur Miso Soup

  1. Pingback: M is for … | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

