Two Potato Mash

I hope you all had a great holiday weekend, and are getting ready for my favorite season, Halloween. I’m stoked about Walking Dead and costumes and candy. Nothing gets me more excited than putting together a perfect costume and being someone else for a day/night… oh and there will be candy.

I am aware it’s Wednesday and I’m due for some What’s the Word? action but with everything that has been going on I needed some comfort food and a break from thinking so much. When my world gets turned upside down I usually turn to baking but this time I wanted potatoes.

Potatoes are a common comfort food I assume due to their versatility. Some prefer theirs scalloped, others whipped or mashed, obviously a lot of people love them fried, but some prefer roasted. I happen to like them in all those different ways plus salt, loads of salt. Trying to eat my feelings in a less-calorie-impacting way, I decided to make a version of mashed potatoes I wouldn’t feel guilty about, even if I ate the whole thing. Enter sweet potatoes and kale, exit heavy cream and copious amount of butter. Trust me, you won’t miss it. My version is vegan and serves four as a side or one huge serving for the stress-eating monster.

Two Potato Mash

  • 2 large sweet potatoes scrubbed well and trimmed
  • 3 small-medium sized white potatoes scrubbed
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 3 cups of washed kale, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 2 tbs of each butter/vegan margarine and Dijon mustard
  • 3 sprigs of thyme or 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp (or to taste) old bay seasoning, if you don’t have this you can use Cajun spice as an alternative
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tbs of water if needed

Method

I left my potatoes un-peeled but mainly because of laziness and I knew the addition of kale would change the texture so I wouldn’t notice the skins. If you are anti-potato-skin-mashed-potatoes, then rinse and clean them before cooking. If you are like me, wash the potatoes well and clean up any iffy areas with a knife or peeler.

Prepare the kale by washing, stemming and cutting into small bite sized pieces. Mince the garlic and gather the remaining ingredients.

Add potatoes to a large pot and cover with water. Salt water and let boil about 10-20 minutes until potatoes are tender when pierced with a fork. Drain and add chopped kale and minced garlic.

Roughly mash the the potatoes, the heat will cook the kale. Add thyme, mustard, butter/margarine, water if needed. Season with old bay, salt and pepper. I like mine with a few potato chunks left. Serve immediately in the biggest bowl you can find, topped with more butter/margerine.

Tell me what you think!

