Chanterelle Omelette

Brrrrrrrrrrrr it’s chilly this morning. I’m not used to this single digit temperatures yet and frankly I don’t want to be. I’m excited today because tonight is Nocturne in Halifax. Nocturne is an art-fest that comes out at night where galleries are open, musicians, dancers and performers line the streets and public transit and art is celebrated in all forms. Live in Halifax? Want a guide? I know you do – check out what is happening here.

I feel really blessed to have the co-workers I do. They always seem to make my day and they know the way to my heart…lets me honest it’s food (and animals, but not animals as food). This week Katie shared some of her chanterelles with me. If you are not sure what chanterelles are they are beautiful, golden trumpet shaped wild mushrooms. See below for detailed deliciousness.

In my humble opinion, mushrooms are always best cooked in butter(or vegan butter substitute – fact) so that is what I planned to do. It’s Saturday, butter and cheese and beautiful wild mushrooms are totally a win.

This omelette is thin and crepe-like filled with meaty buttery mushrooms, crispy edged kale and sharp old white cheddar. Seasoned simply with salt and pepper it makes a perfect no-carb breakfast for one. Serve with coffee.

Chanterelle Omelette

  • 1+ 1/2 tsp butter
  • 1 cup of cleaned and broken chanterelles
  • 2-3 leaves of kale torn into bite sized pieces or 1 cup of spinach washed and  patted dried
  • 1/4-1/3 cup grated white cheddar
  • 2 large free-range eggs
  • 1 tbs milk
  • salt and pepper

Method

Wash chantrelles gently with a damp paper towel and pull apart with your fingers into a manageable size to eat.

Wash and stem kale (or wash and dry spinach) and set aside with the mushrooms.

Heat butter in a non-stick skillet over medium high heat. When the butter starts to bubble add mushrooms, toss in butter and season with salt and pepper. Top with kale and gently stir fry for about 2 minutes. The kale and the mushrooms will wilt slightly. Remove from the pan and set aside.

In a small bowl crack two eggs and beat together with milk. Coat the same pan with more butter or non-stick cooking spray and when the pan is hot drop in the egg mixture into it.

There are many ways to make a perfect omelette. The way I like to cook my omelette is to push the egg into the centre as the egg is cooking, and re-distribute the uncooked egg by tilting and shifting the pan.

Once the egg is almost completely set I add my cooked fillings. In this case I added my mushrooms, kale and grated cheese one on side of the centre mark.

I then fold over the thinner side of the egg to cover the omelette. I usually cover the omelette for about a minute to let the bottom brown and the cheese melt. If you want both sides browned you can flip and cook and additional moment but it’s not always necessary. The most difficult part is sliding the omelette out which is why I prefer to use a wide non-stick pan to make omelettes. In this case I did that but for photo purposes I like the other side, so while it’s brown it looks way more squashed than it did before I flipped it. Oh well, it tasted great! Try this technique with any omelette filling and you should have good results!

3 thoughts on “Chanterelle Omelette

Tell me what you think!

