Cheezy Kale Chips

Happy belated Thanksgiving to my American family and readers!

I’m riding the tardy train again because one of my co-workers leaving the province soon and other social things are starting to ramp up due to the impending holidays. I got to spend a lovely Friday evening decorating my neighbors Christmas tree and tucking into a little too much wine and potato chips which left me a little less than a stellar Saturday morning. In fact on Saturday, I didn’t get a thing done, except grocery shopping because today we are going to celebrate my boyfriend’s mother’s birthday and I needed to make her treats to go along with her gift.

Somehow I have backslid into eating like poo and not exercising as much, and I feel it in every part of my body. I’m tired and bloated and low energy so I need to freshen myself up this week. Last weekend I went to the market, or as Lee calls it the Hipster Mall, and I bought some beautiful dinosaur kale. I finally got into it around mid-week when I cracked out my dehydrator again. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with it, other than stare at it, because it’s pretty much the most beautiful cabbage I’ve ever laid eyes on. See?

I decided, after putting it off, I need to add to my growing list of kale chip recipes – especially now that I’ve started in hard with the bad holiday eating. These kale chips are creamy and cheesy while being raw and vegan. The dinosaur kale gives a lot more space for sauce, and they seem to crisp up faster in the dehydrator as they lay flat until other kale varieties I’ve tried. The cheeze sauce is thick and vegan and really needs to be worked into the kale before you add it to the dehydrator. You could use white miso paste to make it look more like parmesan but once they are dry the brown miso isn’t as dark as I originally anticipated.

Cheezy Kale Chips

  • one bunch of dinosaur kale rinsed and spun/patted dry
  • 1/4 cup of tahini paste
  • 3-4 dashes of prepared hot sauce
  • 1 tsp of miso paste
  • 1 tbs of olive oil
  • 1/4 nutritional yeast plus more for sprinkling
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp chipotle or chili powder
  • salt to taste, if needed

Method

Wash, and dry an entire bunch of kale. With scissors (and your hands) cut out the vein of each leaf. Once all leaves are stemmed, cut each 1/2 leaf into thirds. Place in a large bowl.

In a small bowl combine tahini, miso, olive oil, hot sauce, chipotle/chili powder, garlic salt and nutritional yeast. Stir until well combined, mixture will be very thick.

Drop sauce by teaspoon into the kale until all the sauce is gone. Using your hands, massage each leaf into the sauce and make everyone is coated. This process will take at least 5 minutes. When you think everything is coated sprinkle with additional nutritional yeast and salt if you want and then lay out the leaves onto the dehydrator trays as evenly as possible, uncurling them if you need to. Set your dehydrator to 105 degrees, leave to dry for about 10-12 hours.

When they are dried, store in a air-tight container for a few days.

5 thoughts on “Cheezy Kale Chips

    • I put off using nooch for a long time but its so good on popcorn and really adds a nice cheesy flavour to things while adding B vits! I’m a little obsessed now, try it!

  1. Pingback: K is for… | V-Spot

  2. Pingback: M is for … | V-Spot

  3. Pingback: N is for… | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

