Sweet Potato Drop Cookies for Dogs

I broke out the dehydrator a few weeks back to make some cheezy kale chips but since it’s been out, the dogs have been waiting.

Soon

My dogs totally look evil here and it’s by completely accident. To get back on topic, the dehydrator being back means more dog treats and the dogs totally know this.. I know this is the time of year you are looking for Christmas cookie recipes and vegetarian holiday food inspiration however, I’m just not up to it right now. The whole month of December has been absolute rush, rush, rush and I just want to slow down a second and take care of my family(aka fur-children). That is what I’ve really been up to, a whole lot of nothing (cooking-wise) but family/dog time.

Yes, I bring you dog treats, and yes they have just about the same ingredients in them that my other dog treats have (sweet potato, banana, peanut butter). My dogs happen to be utter peanut butter and sweet potato fiends. They loved these, they crunch, they have loads of fibre and essential fats to keep their coats and bowels healthy.

You could choose to bake these as well but they wouldn’t be considered raw. Since I own a dehydrator I haven’t tried cooking them in the oven but if you leave the oven at the lowest setting for about 8 hours, checking every two hours I think it would work.

Dehydrated Dog Treats

Sweet Potato Drop Cookies 

makes 26 dog cookies

  • 1 large sweet potato scrubbed and grated
  • 1/4 cup of natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup of flax seed
  • 1 tbs of olive oil
  • 1 large organic banana, peeled and cut into pieces

Method

Scrub clean a sweet potato grate with a cheese grater.

Shred the Love

Add grated sweet potato to a medium sized bowl with the peanut butter, flax seed and oil and mix well. Peel and dice banana, add to sweet potato mix with your hands and form a cookie dough like texture.

Sweet Potatdough

Turn on your dehydrator to 130F and scoop a heaping tablespoon amount onto the sheets to form cookies.

Dropping Cookies

Let dry for 12 hours. They will become quite crunchy and spider like. Store in an air tight container for up to a week.

Fibre For Dogs - Sweet Potato Drop Cookies

Tell me what you think!

