Quinoa Pilaf with Sweet Peppers and Petit Pois

I hope everyone is still enjoying their holiday season and you have had the chance to spend time with family and friends, as known as food and wine. I want to be straight up about one thing today, I think this (personally) has been my worst Christmas ever for over indulgence. I don’t know about you, but maybe you could let me know if you guys had a hard time this year? Is it getting worse every year or is it I’m just getting older and my body doesn’t recover like it used to after eating a metric ton?

I’ve been offered and graciously accepted so many celebratory snack foods and dinners, I am about to burst just thinking about it. I’ve avoided the blog, I couldn’t possibly think of making or writing about food when I’ve been borderline sick for about 2 weeks now and I still keep pounding back the snacks and libations. My poor body doesn’t know what to do with itself, and I’m pretty sure I’ve developed a ‘seefood’ eating disorder, every time I see food, I eat it. I’m sluggish, bloated and congested (thank you dairy products). I either have a sugar-headache or I am dehydrated constantly and I’m at the stage that I don’t want to eat, but my stomach is always growling for something, or my eyes are lusting over that last chocolate. It needs to stop. Seriously. I’m in need of a detox of sugar, fat, salt and alcohol.

Two weeks ago I made this pilaf to balance all the rich foods I was eating and I forgot about it until now. It’s not in my fridge waiting to be eaten but seeing the aura of nutrients glow from these photos has made me plan out my next grocery store visit to buy just vegetables, nothing more.

This pilaf is really quick to through together, it gets it’s flavour from the sweetness of the vegetables, the savoriness of the garlic, onions and olive oil with a dash of red pepper flakes, basil, salt and pepper. Bottom line its simple to make and easy to digest. It doesn’t leave you feeling like you just ate a brick and gives you (real) energy to go about your day. This coupled with loads of water and herbal tea is my start to a holiday food recovery. Are you with me?

Quinoa Pilaf

Quinoa Pilaf with Sweet Peppers and Petit Pois

  • 2 cups of cooked quinoa
  • 2 tbs of olive oil
  • 1 each red and yellow pepper
  • 1 medium sized onion, cut into half moons
  • 2 cups of frozen petit pois (baby peas)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1-2 tsp of dried basil
  • a pinch of red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method

Cook 1 cup of quinoa according to package directions; you will need about 2 cups of cooked quinoa to make this recipes serve 4 people. I actually like to freeze my extra quinoa so I cooked a whole package (about 4 -5 cps when cooked), measured out what I needed and froze the rest. You can throw additional quinoa into chilis, soups or freeze individual portions to make cold salads or serve as a quick breakfast or side dish.

Prepare your vegetables. Wash and core the peppers, cut into strips lengthwise and cut those strips in half. Peel the onion cut into half and then cut into half moons similar to the   size of the pepper pieces. Peel and slice garlic.

Sweet Peppers and Onions

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Saute the peppers and onions, seasoning with dried basil, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper as they cook.

(Don't) Sweat the Small Stuff

I don’t like my peppers cooked a long while so after the onions start to soften or about 5 minutes, add the garlic and the frozen peas. Continue to cook another 3-4 minutes until the peas have been heated through.

Let there be Peas on Earth

Last step, add in quinoa, stirring well and check the seasoning.

Grains, Grains!

Once everything has come to the same temperature and has been seasoned to your liking, you can serve immediately with a nice green salad or alone, as a small meal. I chose to make this for my work lunches, so I divided it out to grab in the morning before I walk to work. Yes walk, even in December.

Detoxed Lunch

PS HAPPY NEW YEARS EVERYONE  – SEE YOU IN 2013!

One thought on “Quinoa Pilaf with Sweet Peppers and Petit Pois

  1. Pingback: Q is for… | V-Spot

Tell me what you think!

